12th Annual Herbie Award Winners

Tennessee was honored five times in the 12th annual Herbie Awards, an annual list of the best in college football. Compiled by Kirk Herbstreit, the elite players and coaches of college football are celebrated.


Junior wide receiver Da'Rick Rogers was honored three times during the "award night".

He was featured in the Catching On: Top Wide Receivers Category and in the Dress For Success: Looks the Part category.

Catching On: Top Wide Receivers

1. Marqise Lee, USC
2. Tavon Austin, West Virginia
3. Robert Woods, USC
4. Da'Rick Rogers, Tennessee
5. Marquess Wilson, Washington State

Dress for Success: Look the Part
1. William Gholston, Michigan State
2. Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
3. Shayne Skov, Stanford
4. Da'Rick Rogers, Tennessee
5. Marqise Lee, USC

In addition, Rogers was named to the: 

All-Herbie Team: What a college team should look like.

QB Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech DL William Gholston, Michigan State
RB Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina DL Sam Montgomery, LSU
RB Rex Burkhead, Nebraska DL Corey Lemonier, Auburn
WR Marqise Lee, USC DL Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
WR Tavon Austin, West Virginia LB Shayne Skov, Stanford
WR Da'Rick Rogers, Tennessee LB Jarvis Jones, Georgia
TE Jake Stoneburner, Ohio State LB Jamie Collins, Southern Miss
T Oday Aboushi, Virginia
T Jake Matthews, Texas A&M CB Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech
C Barrett Jones, Alabama CB Xavier Rhodes, Florida State
G Chance Warmack, Alabama S Kenny Vaccaro, Texas
G Braden Hansen, BYU S Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma

Defensive Coordinator Sal Sunseri, and head coach Derek Dooley for hiring him, got the nod in the category of Sudden Impact: Best Coordinator Hires.

Sudden Impact: Best Coordinator Hires

1. Mike Stoops, Oklahoma
2. Doug Nussmeier, Alabama
3. Sal Sunseri, Tennessee
4. Brian VanGorder, Auburn
5. Justin Wilcox, Washington

And for the final award of the night, the Tennessee Vols earned the honor as a team in the category Surprise Party: Teams.

Surprise Party: Teams
1. Mississippi State
2. Purdue
3. Boise State (Chris Petersen!)
4. Tennessee


"The Herbie Awards" airs on ESPN at 7 p.m. ET Tuesday night.

Subscribe and Share