History of Tennessee Sports Medicine

Sports Medicine Staff

All-Time Men's Head Athletic Trainers

Jason McVeigh

(Tennessee 1996)
Dir. of Rehabilitation 1999-2005
Dir. of Sports Med. 2006-2011
Assc. AD/Director of Sports Medicine 2011-present

Keith Clements

(Fresno State 1993)
Asst. Athletic Trainer 2000-01
Head Athletic Trainer 2002-05

Mike Rollo

(Tennessee 1977)
Asst. Athletic Trainer 1978-1985
Assoc. Athletic Trainer 1986-1992
Head Athletic Trainer 1992-2000
Asst. AD/Sports Medicine 2001-02

Tim Kerin

(Indiana [Pa.] 1969)
Head Athletic Trainer 1977-91

Tom Wall

(Tennessee 1969)
Asst. Trainer 1969-73
Head Athletic Trainer 1973-76

Mickey O'Brien

Head Athletic Trainer 1938-41, 1945-72

Elmer Ike Hill

Head Athletic Trainer 1942-44

Dr. Robert Brashear

(Tennessee 1928)
Head Athletic Trainer 1929-37;
Team Physician, 1941-42, 46-47

Dr. Frank Faulkner

(Tennessee Hospital)
Head Athletic Trainer 1928

Lenox Baker

(Tennessee 1929)
Head Athletic Trainer 1925-28

All-Time Women's Head Athletic Trainers

Jenny Moshak

(Western Michigan University 1986)
Athletics Director for Sports Medicine 1989 - 2012

Jane Steinberg

Head Athletic Trainer 1982-1989

Sue Carver

Head Athletic Trainer 1978-1982

All-Time Men's Team Physicians

Dr. Chris Klenck 2006-Present Purdue (1995)
Dr. Val Gene Iven 1994-2006 Oklahoma State (1985)
Dr. Robert Rubright 1970-1993 Indiana
Dr. Rex Powell 1938-40 --

All-Time Women's Team Physicians

Dr. Rebecca Morgan 1998-2011 U. of South Alabama
Dr. Ken Bielak 1997-1998 Michigan State University
Dr. Larry Davis 1997-1998 Michigan State University
Dr. Patricia Eachus 1986-1997 Tennessee Health Science Center
Dr. Frank Haufe 1979-1986 Northwestern

Notable Alumni

This section includes those who have served here at the University of Tennessee as either a student athletic trainer or a graduate assistant athletic trainer. These individuals have gone on to successful and notable careers as a Certified Athletic Trainer. If you feel someone should be added to the list, or you are an alumni, please provide us with an update by sending us an Email.

Vernon Caldwell Former Head Athletic Trainer, Wofford University
Jim Goosetree Purdue (1995) Former Head Athletic Trainer, University of Alabama
Chas Miller Head Athletic Trainer, Class A Atlanta Braves Organization
Tim Mullins Tennessee (1993) Ole Miss Head Athletic Trainer
Nick O'Neill Tennessee (2007) Head Athletic Trainer, Harlem Globetrotters
Chris Patrick Tennessee (1961) Director of Sports Medicine, University of Florida
TJ Saunders Minor League Athletic Trainer, Detroit Tigers
Kyle Schimmoeller Assistant Athletic Trainer, Baltimore Ravens
Josh Stevens Assistant Athletic Trainer, Southern Methodist University

Athletic Trainers in the Hall of Fame

National Athletic Trainers' Association (NATA) HOF
Timothy J. Kerin - 1993
Mickey O'Brien - 1964
Southeastern Athletic Trainers' Association (SEATA) HOF
Mickey O'Brien - 2007
Tim Kerin - 2007
Tennessee Athletic Trainers' Association (TATS) HOF
Tim Kerin - 1994
Mickey O'Brien - 1994
Tennessee Sports HOF
Tim Kerin - 2001
Mickey O'Brien - 1973
North Carolina Sports HOF
Lenox Baker - 1983
Indiana University of Pennsylvania Athletics HOF
Tim Kerin - 2000
Duke University Sports HOF
Lenox Baker - 1978

Special Honors and Awards

University of Tennessee Honorary Letterman 

Dr. Robert Brashear
John Karnes
Tim Kerin
Dr. Robert Rubright
Dr. William Youmans

Helms Athletic Foundation Hall of Fame

Mickey O'Brien - Unknown

National Athletic Trainers' Association Honorary Membership

Dr. Robert Rubright - 1986
Dr. William Youmans - 1986
Dr. Robert Brashear - 1956

NATA President's Challenge Award

Dr. Robert Brashear - 1984

SEATA Award of Merit

Tim Kerin - 1991

Jack C. Hughston, MD SEATA Sports Medicine Person of the Year Award

Dr. Robert Rubright - 1993

SEATA Backbone Award

Mike Rollo - 1990

Tennessee Athletic Trainers' Association (TATS) Sports Medicine Person of the Year Award

Dr. William Youmans - 1997

Southeastern Conference Team Physician of the Year

Dr. William Youmans - 2005

Robert E. Leach, MD Mr. Sports Medicine Award (American Orthopedic Society for Sports Medicine)

Dr. Lenox Baker - 1989

Eugene Smith / Mickey O'Brien (TATS) College Athletic Trainer of the Year

Tim Kerin - 1993
Mike Rollo - 2002
Chad Newman - 2010


Jim Goosetree (Alabama trainer) Mickey O'Brien (Tennessee Trainer) and Chris Patrick (Former Tennessee GA trainer and now trainer at Florida)

Photo Gallery


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago