Dave  Parrington

Dave Parrington

Diving Coach

Alma Mater:
Houston 1983



  • 1-Meter Springboard (2):
    2004 - Jevon Tarantino (388.65); 2016 - Liam Stone (453.70).
  • 3-Meter Springboard (3):
    1994 - Evan Stewart (614.65); 1995 - Evan Stewart (655.40); 2003 - Phillip Jones (649.70)


  • 1-Meter Springboard (8):
    1994 - Evan Stewart (552.45); 1996 - Evan Stewart (555.20); 1997 - Evan Stewart (583.55); 2004 - Jevon Tarantino (356.35); 2011 - Michael Wright (416.85); 2012 - Ryan Helms (415.10); 2015 - Mauricio Robles (421.15); 2016 - Mauricio Robles (459.75).
  • 3-Meter Springboard (11):
    1994 - Evan Stewart (568.90); 1995 - Evan Stewart (598.15); 1996 - Evan Stewart (594.90); 1998 - Shannon Roy (583.60); 1999 - Gabi Chereches (629.45); 2000 - Gabi Chereches (595.40); 2001 - Shannon Roy (610.00); 2002 - Phillip Jones (596.25); 2004 - Phillip Jones (633.75); 2012 - Ryan Helms (446.20); 2015 - Liam Stone (463.50 - SEC Record).
  • Platform (5):
    1999 - Gabi Chereches (768.70); 2000 Gabi Chereches (595.40); 2001 - Gabi Chereches (638.35); 2012 - Mauricio Robles (438.35); 2016 - Mauricio Robles (439.90).


  • 3-Meter Springboard (1):
    1995 - Tracy Bonner (580.20)
  • Platform (1):
    1998 - Kathy Pesek (659.65)


  • 1-Meter Springboard (4):
    1997 - Tracy Bonner (404.95); 2001 - Jamie Sanger (311.70); 2002 - Jaime Sanger (313.85); 2003 - Jaime Sanger (323.25).
  • 3-Meter Springboard:
    1995 - Tracy Bonner (517.65); 1996 - Kathy Pesek (522.90); 2000 - Jane Woodard (525.35); 2008 - Lauren LeRoy (344.05).
  • Platform (7):
    1997 - Dawn Burton (556.35); 1998 - Kathy Pesek (658.40); 1999 - Kathy Pesek (639.90); 2003 - Kylee Wells (452.95); 2012 - Tori Lamp (335.50); 2013 - Tori Lamp (341.90); 2014 - Tori Lamp (356.10); 2016 - Rachel Rubadue (330.50).

Seasons at Tennessee: 27th Year (as of 2016-17)
NCAA Champions: 7 (5 men, 2 women)
SEC Champions: 40 (24 men, 16 women)
SEC Coach of the Year: 13 times
1994 (M), 1996 (M), 1997 (W), 1998 (M), 1999 (M), 2000 (M), 2001 (M), 2003 (W), 2012 (M&W), 2013 (W), 2015 (M), 2016 (M).

2013 National Women's Diving Coach of the Year

Tennessee diving coach Dave Parrington, a successful athlete on both the collegiate and international levels, has translated that athletic excellence into a high degree of proficiency in the coaching ranks. Parrington has received countless honors on every level the diving community and is in his 27th season at UT in the 2016-17 school year.

His wealth of experience and teaching ability was displayed in the successes of his athletes with divers excelling at the conference and national levels year in, year out.

The Harare, Zimbabwe, native owns an impressive resume. The SEC coaches have voted Parrington the Men's Diving Coach of the Year nine times (1994, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2012, 2015, 2016) and the Women's Coach of the Year four times (1997, 2003, 2012, 2013). Since arriving on The Hill, Parrington has produced seven NCAA champions and 40 SEC champions. He has coached eight USA Diving national champions.

Parrington and the UT divers have built an impressive stretch over recent.

The 2011-12 season was among Tennessee's best overall seasons in the diving well as the men swept all three diving events at the SEC Championships for the first time in program history. Ryan Helms won the 1-meter and 3-meter titles and freshman Mauricio Robles took the platform. Tori Lamp led the women all year and won her first SEC title in her signature event, the platform. Helms and Lamp were both voted the SEC Diver of the Year for the men and women.

Lamp, Helms and former SEC champion Michael Wright competed in the 2012 USA Olympic Diving Trials. Lamp also qualified for the FINA Grand Prix diving series for Team USA during the summer months.

In 2012-13, Parrington was named the CSCAA National Women's Diving Coach of the Year and SEC Women's Diving Coach of the Year after leading the Lady Vols to championship-level heights at the SEC and NCAA championships. Lamp was named the National Diver of the Year after making the finals of all three diving events, placing second on the platform for the second time, and senior Jodie McGroarty made the finals in both springboard competitions to help Tennessee finish third in the team standings for the first time in program history.

The 2013-14 season marked the re-emergence of Robles to the national scene. After missing much of the 2013 spring with a head injury, Robles put together a brilliant sophomore year. He took the NCAA bronze medal on the 3-meter springboard and scored in all three events. He earned silver medals at the SEC meet on 1 meter and 3 meter and later was voted the SEC Diver of the Year. Lamp finished her career by winning her third consecutive SEC platform title, setting a meet record in 356.10.

Parrington earned SEC Men's Diving Coach of the Year honors in 2015. At the SEC meet, Robles won the 1-meter springboard title with a Tennessee record of 421.15. Liam Stone, who joined the team in January, set the meet record to win in the 3-meter title in 463.50 with Robles taking third.

In 2016, Tennessee celebrated its first NCAA men's diving champion since 2004 when Liam Stone captured the 1-meter NCAA title (453.70 - school record). Robles ended his career as the 2016 SEC Diver of the Year, defending his 1-meter conference title and winning platform for the first time since 2012. Freshman Rachel Rubadue won the women's platform title and was the SEC Freshman Diver of the Year.


Tennessee divers during the Parrington era have competed at the Olympics, World Championships, World University Games, World Diving Cup, Pan American Games, the Commonwealth Games and the African Games a combined 25 times. During the 1999 and 2000 SEC championships meets, Parrington coached Gabi Chereches to an SEC Commissioners Trophy, awarded to the swimmer or diver with the highest point total at the meet.

Parrington coached Zimbabwe's Olympic team in the 1996 Atlanta Olympics as well as the 2000 Sydney Olympics. Other Olympic service includes two stints (1998, 2008) as a judge at the U.S. Olympic diving trials and a selector for the USA Olympic team selection camp hosted at the Allan Jones Intercollegiate Aquatic Center. He also served the United States' diving team as a coach for the 1997 World Cup qualifying and championships rounds and was rewarded with the USA Diving Coaches Award of Excellence. Parrington was named the head coach of Team USA at the 2014 Fina World Series in London, England, UK.

Lamp competed internationally, winning the platform competition at the 2013 U.S. World Championships Qualifying and later placing 10th in her signature event at the FINA World Diving Championships in Barcelona, Spain. She was on the USA Diving's olympic development squad and represented Team USA in the FINA Diving World Series in 2014.


Before he arrived in Knoxville, Parrington spent seven years as the head diving coach at his alma mater the University of Houston.

As a student-athlete, Parrington competed in the 1980 Moscow Olympics, representing Zimbabwe in both the three-meter and platform events. Parrington also played for Zimbabwe's national diving and water polo teams.

In August 2008, former UT head football coach Phillip Fulmer endowed $250,000 for the Dave Parrington Tennessee Diving Scholarship. The gift was a token of gratitude for Parrington's many years coaching Fulmer's daughter and former Lady Vol diver Brittany.

In the summer of 2009, Parrington married former UT swimming and diving massage therapist Marie Wilson. She has been a part of the program for nine years and is a Knoxville, Tenn., native. She has three children Jeff, Brent and Derek and five grandchildren Emily, Zachary, Camille, Blake, Maggie and DJ.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago