Small, Banic, Stone Take Bronze On Day 3 of SECs
Feb. 16, 2017

Results |  Quotes

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- Meghan Small, Madeline Banic and Liam Stone added bronze medals to their golds Thursday night at the SEC Swimming and Diving Championships.

After winning SEC titles earlier in the meet, the Tennessee trio all added third-place finishes to their resumes on the third night of the meet.

Coming off an SEC gold in the 200 IM on Wednesday, Small took third in the 400-yard individual medley in a school-record time of 4:04.93.

Banic, the 50 freestyle champion, followed a with a bronze performance in the 100 butterfly, the same place she finished in the event a year ago as a freshman.

Stone's run to the bronze medal came in exciting fashion. He missed his first two dives to fall well behind medal contention, but slowly climbed back. He hit his final three dives for at least 80 points -- including his final for 93.50 -- to finish third with 442.90.

The Tennessee women will head into Day 4 of the SEC Championships in fourth place with 454 points. Texas A&M currently sits in first place with 729 points.

The UT men are in sixth place at 409.5 points. Florida leads the men's teams with 759.5 points.

The women's side featured two record-setting performances by Aggies. In the 400 IM final, Texas A&M sophomore Sydney Pickrem set the new pool record at 4:02.25, besting the previous mark of 4:03.27 by Elizabeth Beisel in 2012. Texas A&M senior Sarah Gibson won the 100 Fly and set a new SEC record and pool record with a time of 50.71.

Three new SEC men's records were set on Thursday. Georgia senior Chase Kalisz set the new men's 400 IM SEC and pool record with a winning time of 3:36.21 in the final. That time was over one second faster than the previous SEC mark (3:37.75) set by Connor Dwyer in 2011.

In the 100 Fly, Florida junior Caeleb Dressel clocked a new SEC-record time of 44.21.

Texas A&M's Tyler Henschel won the men's 3-meter gold with an SEC-record 478.40 points. Before Henschel's final dive, LSU's Juan Hernandez briefly held the league's all-time mark with 469.95 points, which topped Stone's previous mark of 464.50 points from 2015.

The championships continue Friday, beginning with preliminaries at 10 a.m.

WOMEN'S 400 IM: Freshman Meghan Small returned to the podium with a record-setting third-place finish in the 400 IM in 4:04.93. She lowered the school record by a second, formerly held by Amanda Carner (4:05.97, 2016). Freshman Tess Cieplucha won the C final in 4:10.37, the fifth-fastest time in program history and four seconds faster than she was in the preliminaries.

MEN'S 400 IM: Junior Sam McHugh placed seventh in the men's 400 IM in 3:44.70, more than a second off his preliminary time. Freshman Nathan Murray -- who dropped 13 seconds off his seed time in the morning -- cut another second off his time to place 19th overall in 3:49.02. It is the seventh-fastest time in program history.

WOMEN'S 100 BUTTERFLY: Junior Madeline Banic earned her second consecutive bronze medal in the 100 butterfly, placing third in 51.80, her fastest time of the season. Senior Michelle Cefal was 15th overall in a career-best 53.04, the seventh-fastest time in program history. Senior Heather Lundstrom took second in the C final -- 18th overall -- in 53.55.

MEN'S BUTTERFLY: Junior Ryan Coetzee lowered his career best to 46.01 to finish fourth overall. It is the second-fastest time in program history.

MEN'S 3-METER: Two missed dives to start the competition nearly cost junior Liam Stone from being in medal contention, but he thundered back in the final three dives to take third with 442.90. Nick Rusek took 12th in 362.45, and senior Michael Howell was 16th in 341.10.

WOMEN'S 200 FREE: Junior Micah Bohon finished 11th with a time of 1:46.99 in the B final. She posted a season-best 1:46.94 in prelims. Freshman Erika Brown took 17th with a career-best time of 1:46.49 to win the C final and trimmed just over one second of her prelims time.

MEN'S 200 FREE: Sophomore Joey Reilman took sixth place with a career-best time of 1:34.55 in the final. Sophomore Kyle DeCoursey placed 11th and set a new career best with a time of 1:34.55, trimming nearly three seconds off his previous best.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago