Wednesday Night at the SECs
Feb. 15, 2017

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- Freshman Meghan Small broke the 200-yard individual medley school record to lead Tennessee in Wednesday's preliminaries at the SEC Swimming & Diving Championships.

The finals begin at 6 p.m. and will feature the 500-yard freestyle, the 200 IM, the women's 3-meter springboard and the 200 medley relay.

Small posted the fastest time in the 200 IM field by nearly half a second, reaching the wall in 1:54.86. She broke Amanda Carner's 2016 record of 1:56.12.

Four Vols advanced to championship finals. Sophomore Kyle DeCoursey is in the men's 50 freestyle final, and sophomore Madeline Banic and senior Kira Toussaint are in women's final of the 50 freestyle. Tennessee will conclude the night with two teams in the 200 medley relay.

Tennessee picked up some more points in women's diving as sophomore Rachel Rubadue finished 13th and Emily Pelletier took 23rd.


Who's Swimming Tonight?
B Final: Morgan Dickson (4:46.13)
C Final: Madeline Tegner (4:46.99)

Morgan Dickson and Madeline Tegner posted season bests to book their spots in the evening final. Dickson posted the 15th fastest time overall in 4:46.13 to get in the B final, and Tegner will race in the C final after swimming the 18th fastest time in 4:46.99. Other Tennessee swimmers competing included: Spence Atkins (26th - alternate, 4:48.34), Brianna Leverenz (35th, 4:50.80)


Who's Swimming Tonight?
B Final: Taylor Abbott (4:20.22)
C Final: Sam McHugh (4:20.45), Marc Hinawi (4:21.05), David Heron (4:22.78)

Taylor Abbott swam the seventh-fastest time in program history, clocking a career-best 4:20.22 to record the 15th fastest time. Sam McHugh was in a swim-off the the last spot in the B-final at the conclusion of the session, but finished second. Two Vols are into the C final: Marc Hinawi had the 19th fastest time and David Heron clocked in at 22nd.


Who's Swimming Tonight?
A Final: Meghan Small (1:54.86)
C Final: Colleen Callahan (1:58.93)

Meghan Small broke the Tennessee record with an NCAA A-cut time of 1:54.86, the fastest qualifying time in the field. It was her best in Tennessee uniform by more than two seconds. Tennessee has only won one women's SEC 200 IM title in program history: Jenny McGrath in 1990. Senior Colleen Callahan had the 19th fastest preliminary time in 1:58.93.

MEN'S 200 IM

Who's Swimming Tonight?
C Final: Austin Hirstein (1:46.64)

Austin Hirstein is into the final of the 200 IM, getting into the C final with a time of 1:46.64. Other swimmers included: Matthew Dunphy (31st, 1:48.37) and Ross Dibblin (42nd, 1:50.64).


Who's Swimming Tonight?
A Final: Madeline Banic (22.00), Kira Toussaint (22.24)
B Final: Erika Brown (22.50), Alex Cleveland (22.66)

Tennessee scored big points in the 50 freestyle last year and could do so again Wednesday night. Sophomore Madeline Banic tied for second in prelims with a time of 22.00, looking to improve on her bronze medal in the event from a year ago. Kira Toussaint is also back int he final with the fifth-best time of 22.24. Tennessee will also have a pair in the finals of the 50 freestyle: freshman Erika Brown (22.50, 10th) and junior Alex Cleveland (22.66, 13th). Other UT swimmers in prelims included: Emily Allen (23.34, 34th) and Mary Cayten Brakefield (23.36, 37th).


Who's Swimming Tonight?
A Final: Kyle DeCoursey (19.21)
C Final: Ryan Coetzee (19.87)

Kyle DeCoursey dropped a career-best time of 19.21 to return to the championship final of the men's 50 freestyle. It was the third-fastest time in the field as tonight he looks to improve upon his sixth-place finish from a year ago. Ryan Coetzee is also into the C final with the 19th-fastest time. Other Vols swimming preliminaries: Braga Verhage (20.12, 27th), Tim Raab (20.24, 31st), Alec Connolly (20.30, 35th), Gleb Ionichev (20.46, 40th) and Peter John Stevens (21.14, 51st).





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago