Thursday Night at the SECs
Feb. 16, 2017

Five Tennessee swimmers qualified for championship finals heading into Thursday's night session at the SEC Swimming and Diving Championships at Allan Jones Intercollegiate Aquatic Center.

The session begins at 6 p.m. with the 400-yard individual medley, the 100 butterfly, the men's 3-meter diving competition and the 200 freestyle.

Freshman Meghan Small will contend for her second title of the meet in the women's 400 IM, sophomore Madeline Banic will look to do the same in the women's 100 butterfly, junior Sam McHugh in the men's 400 IM, junior Ryan Coetzee in the men's 100 butterfly and sophomore Joey Reilman in the 200 men's freestyle.


Who's Swimming Tonight? A Final: Meghan Small (4:08.42)
C Final: Tess Cieplucha (4:14.49), Morgan Dickson (4:16.89)

Meghan Small is back in the 400 IM final after winning gold in the 200 IM on Wednesday night. She recorded the fourth-fastest time in the prelims, clocking in at a career-best 4:08.42. Freshman Tess Cieplucha clocked the 17th time (4:14.49) to be the top seed in the C heat, and Morgan Dickson was 22nd (4:16.89).

MEN'S 400 IM

Who's Swimming Tonight? A Final:Sam McHugh (3:45.86)
C Final: Nathan Murray (3:50.37)

Sam McHugh is in his first championship final of the meet. With a strong second half to his race, he recorded the seventh-fastest preliminary time in 3:45.86. Freshman Nathan Murray is in his first career final after dropping 13 seconds off his previous best, posting the 19th-fastest time in 3:50.37.


Who's Swimming Tonight? A Final: Madeline Banic (52.20)
B Final: Michelle Cefal (53.14)
C Final: Heather Lundstrom (53.87)

Tennessee has one finalist in each event, headlined by Wednesday night's 50 freestyle champion, Madeline Banic. She was a bronze medalist in the 100 butterfly last season and enters the night session with the fourth-fastest qualifying time.


Who's Swimming Tonight? A Final: Ryan Coetzee (46.23)

Junior Ryan Coetzee nearly brought down the school record in his morning swim, logging the second-fastest time in program history to secure the eighth and final spot in the preliminaries. It was a career best and will be his first career appearance in an SEC championship heat final.


Who's Swimming Tonight? B Final: Micah Bohon (1:46.94)
C Final: Erika Brown (1:47.89)

Junior Micah Bohon is into her first individual final of the week, recording the 12th-fastest time in the 200 freestyle. Freshman Erika Brown is into her second final with the 19th time (1:47.89).





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago