Wednesday Night at the SECs

Feb. 19, 2014

Here's a quick look at how Tennessee competed in Wednesday's morning preliminary sessions, plus who to watch for tonight.


Who's swimming tonight?
Lindsay Gendron - B Final - 4:41.72
Mary Griffith - B Final - 4:43.80
Camryne Morris - C Final - 4:48.09

Lindsay Gendron swam her best time of the season by three seconds but was shut out of the championship final by just more than a second. She has the second-fastest time in the B final and will be joined there by Mary Griffith, who swam her career best by seven seconds (4:43.80) to clock the fourth-best time in program history. Freshman Camryne Morris made her first career final by swimming the eighth-best time in UT history (4:48.09). Additional UT swimmers in the prelims included: Madeline Tegner (4:50.65), Caroline Finkbeiner (4:50.99) and Lauren Driscoll (4:52.60).


Tennessee did not have any qualifiers in the 500 freestyle. Sam Petersen was the Vols' top finisher in 4:30.64 (40th) and Miles Garner reached the wall in 4:37.33 (46th).


Who's swimming tonight?
Anna DeMonte - B Final - 1:58.67
Amanda Carner - B Final - 1:58.81

Anna DeMonte and Amanda Carner were both less than a half second off the Tennessee school record in the 200 IM. Both put together career-best and NCAA B-cut times in their morning swims of 1:58.67 and 1:58.81 respectively. Megan Tomes still holds the school record of 1:58.36 in 2007, the oldest UT women's record. Additional UT prelim swimmers included: Christina Leander (2:02.04) and Colleen Callahan (2:04.50).

MEN'S 200 IM

Who's swimming tonight?
Tristan Slater - A Final - 1:45.18
Jimmy Dagley - C Final - 1:47.84
Austin Hirstein - Alternate - 1:48.21

Tristan Slater is back in the A final of the 200 IM for the third season. He posted the sixth-best time of 1:45.18. Jimmy Dagley, one of the Vols' top backstrokers this season, is into the C Final with a time of 1:47.84. As the second alternate, Austin Hirstein needs two swimmers to pull out to swim tonight. He clocked an NCAA B cut for the first time in his career. Ben Myrhe swam 1:50.79 in the preliminaries.


Who's swimming tonight?
Faith Johnson - A Final - 21.97
Harper Bruens - B Final - 22.43
Cherelle Thompson - C Final - 22.77

Faith Johnson put herself in good position to try for a title defense in the 50 freestyle tonight, clocking the second-fastest time in 21.97. Harper Bruens clocked a career-best time of 22.43 to make the B final, and Cherelle Thompson did the same to make the C final (22.79). Additional UT swimmers in the prelims included: Lauren Solernou (23.32) and Kate McNeilis (23.40).


Who's swimming tonight?
Luke Percy - A Final - 19.54
Troy Tillman - B Final - 19.72
Gustav Aberg Ledjstrom - C Final - 19.90
Oystein Hetland - C Final - 19.90
Chris Sadsad - Alternate - 20.04

All four of the Vols swimming in tonight's finals recorded career bests. Freshman Luke Percy is in his first individual final with a time of 19.54, the seventh-fastest time in program history and the seventh-best time in the prelims. Troy Tillman and Oystein Hetland both improved on sub-20 second career times to make the B final. Gustav Aberg Ledjstrom swam below 20 seconds for the first time in his career.


Who's diving tonight?
Mauricio Robles - 375.35

Mauricio Robles, coming off a second-place performance last night in the 3-meter competition, is looking to collect more hardware on the springboard. He put together a solid run on the 1-meter board in prelims today, scoring the third-best total in the field. He'll dive seventh tonight in the 9-diver field (two divers tied for eighth in the prelims). Other UT competitors in the prelims included: Michael Howell (269.40) and Lee Fullam (240.80).





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago