Wednesday Night at the SECs

Feb. 20, 2013

Here's a quick look at how the Vols and Lady Vols competed in Wednesday's morning preliminary sessions, plus who to watch for tonight.


Who's swimming tonight?
Sean Lehane - B Final - 4:21.39 (13th)
Ryan Signorin - C Final - 4:23.45 (21st)
Sam Petersen - C Final - 4:23.49 (22nd)

Notably, all six of the Vols who swam the 500 freestyle posted lifetime bests by two seconds or more. Additional UT swimmers included Ben Miller (4:24.87, NCAA B cut), Bryce BeVier (4:26.59) and Trevor Leland (4:31.51).

Lehane, who has emerged as one of the Vols' top swimmers as a freshman, will swim in his first individual final tonight, as will Signorin. Lehane's time of 4:21.39 is the 8th fastest in Tennessee program history.


Who's swimming tonight?
Lindsay Gendron - A Final - 4:36.71 (1st)
Caroline Finkbeiner - C Final - 4:51.30 (22nd)

Gendron, a standout freestyler at every distance, broke her own school record by more than two seconds, swimming in 4:36.71. It was an NCAA automatic qualifying time and the fastest time in prelims. The 500 freestyle final is shaping up to be a star-studded race that includes 2012 Olympians Allison Schmitt of Georgia and Cammile Adams of Texas A&M.

Finkbeiner will be making her final debut individually this evening with the 22nd fastest time. Grace Ann Sanderson was the only other Tennessee swimmer in the race (5:02.72).


Who's swimming tonight?
Tristan Slater - A Final - 1:44.01 (7th)
Drew Peterson - C Final - 1:49.35 (24th)

As a freshman last season, Tristan Slater became the Vols' top individual medley swimmer. He's retained that title this year. While the 400 IM might be his better of the two events, he got the time he needed to reach the A Final in the 200 IM in an NCAA B-cut time of 1:44.83.

In his first year as a Vol, Peterson is into his first final by swimming 1:49.35. He transferred to Tennessee from Rider last year, where he was the team's top IMer.


Who's swimming tonight?
Amanda Carner - C Final - 2:00.64 (21st)
Molly Hannis - C Final - 2:01.11 (23rd)

The Lady Vols got two swimmers into the evening finals with Carner and Hannis both set to go in the C Final. It will be Carner's first individual final appearance. For Hannis, primarily a breaststroker, this will hardly be a new stage. She swam the 200 IM at last year's SEC Championship, but 2:01.11 was a career-best time.

Anna DeMonte just missed the finals, swimming 28th in 2:01.70. Maddie Hahn was 2:02.79, and Brooke Watson was 2:04.62.


Who's swimming tonight?
Ed Walsh - A Final - 19.68 (5th)
Oystein Hetland - B Final - 20.01 (12th)
Troy Tillman - B Final - 20.03 (16th)
Gustav Aberg Ledjstrom - C Final - 20.05 (18th)
Jacob Thulin - C Final - 20.14 (21st)

The Vols will be well-represented in the 50 freestyle finals tonight. Walsh has established himself as one of the top sprint freestylers in the SEC and dropped a career-best time of 19.68 in the prelims, good for fifth best in the field.

Hetland is in the B final after nearly breaking 20 seconds (20.01) and will be joined in the field by Tillman, who earned a spot in the field after winning a swim off against Max Grodecki of Missouri after they had identical times of 20.03. Tillman was faster the second time, swimming in 20.00.

Aberg Ledjstrom and Thulin rounded out the Vols' five-swimmer contingent in the evening finals, both making the C Final. Tennessee had two other swimmers who did not make the evening field: Chris Sadsad (20.57) and Renato Prono (21.27)


Who's swimming tonight?
Faith Johnson - A Final - 22.02 (1st)
Caroline Simmons - A Final - 22.94 (4th)
Harper Bruens - B Final - 22.50 (11th)
Kelsey Floyd - B Final - 22.60 (15th)
Cherelle Thompson - C Final - 22.97 (21st)

Like the men, the women also placed five swimmers in the finals of the 50 free. The Lady Vols recorded two of the top four times in the prelims with Johnson and Simmons. Johnson's time of 22.02 is an NCAA automatic qualifying time and the second-fastest time in program history.

Three of the five Lady Vols in the finals are freshmen. Bruens is in the B Final (22.50) and Cherelle Thompson is in the C Final (22.97). Floyd, primarily a butterflier, has put together a strong season in the sprint freestyles, the 50 in particular. She is in the B Final tonight (22.60).

Other swimmers for UT included: Kate McNeilis (23.15), Lauren Solernou (23.41), Arden Pitman (23.53) and Heather Kiger (23.82).


Who's diving tonight?
Tori Lamp - 299.45 (2nd)

SEC finals are increasingly becoming the norm for Lamp, who took home the bronze medal in the 3 meter competition Tuesday night. Last year, she finished second on the 1 meter and 3 meter before taking gold on platform, her signature event. Tonight she is the second-seeded diver on 1 meter (299.45) and very much in the mix for a medal.

Senior Jodie McGroarty missed the championship round by just two points, finishing ninth in 283.00. Freshman Samantha Lera took 12th (271.30), meaning all three Lady Vols scored for Tennessee again in diving.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago