Friday Night at the SECs

Feb. 21, 2014

Here's a quick look at how Tennessee competed in Friday's morning preliminary sessions, plus who to watch for tonight.


Who's swimming tonight?
Madeline Tegner - B Final - 1:59.51
Michelle Cefal - C Final - 2:00.51
Patricia Forrester - C Final - 2:00.66

Tennessee's participants tonight in the women's 200 butterfly are all freshman. Michelle Tegner led the way among UT newcomers in the prelims, grabbing the final spot in the B final in an NCAA B-cut time of 1:59.51. Michelle Cefal (2:00.51) and Patricia Forrester (2:00.66) are both sixth and eighth in the C final.


Who's swimming tonight?
Tristan Slater - B Final - 1:46.14
Ben Myhre - Alternate - 1:47.49

Tristan Slater qualified for his third individual final of the meet, earning the last spot in the B final of the 200 butterfly. That time is a career best and the sixth-fastest time in Tennessee history. Ben Myhre is the second alternate for the event with an NCAA B-cut time of 1:47.49.


Who's swimming tonight?
Lauren Solernou - A Final - 52.67
Christina Leander - C Final - 54.11
Madison Hahn - C Final - 54.40

Lauren Solernou is back in the A final of the 100 backstroke for the third consecutive season. She was a fraction off her career best, coming in at 52.67. She was third in this event as a sophomore in 2012. Freshman Christina Leander is in her first career final, booking the top spot in the C final (54.11). Madison Hahn will also be in the C final (54.40).


Who's swimming tonight?
Sam Rairden - A Final - 46.01
Sean Lehane - A Final - 46.34
Carl Svagerko - B Final - 47.37
Jimmy Dagley - B Final - 47.60

The men's 100 backstroke is the first event of the meet that will feature two Tennessee athletes in the championship final. Sam Rairden, who earned silver in this event last year, clocked a career-best time of 46.01 to post the fastest qualifying time in the morning preliminaries. He ranks second on the Vols' all-time list. Sean Lehane moved up to third on the list with a time of 46.34. Tennessee will also have a pair in the B final: senior Carl Svagerko (47.37) and Jimmy Dagley (47.60).


Who's swimming tonight?
Molly Hannis - A Final - 59.05
Colleen Callahan - C Final - 1:02.60

Molly Hannis is back in the A final, as she's been the last two years. She won this event in 2012 and was second in 2013. She will be squaring off against Texas A&M's Breeja Larson, who won gold last year and owns the SEC record (57.43). Freshman Colleen Callahan made her first final (1:02.60).


Who's swimming tonight?
Renato Prono - B Final - 53.65
Ross Dibblin - C Final - 54.48

Renato Prono, a bronze medalist in this event in 2012, is in the B final after posting a time of 53.65. He won the consolation final in this event last season and will try to do so again tonight. Ross Dibblin is in his first career SEC final, swimming in the C final after posting a time of 54.48.


Who's diving tonight?
Mauricio Robles - A Final - 401.45

After silver medals in the 1-meter and 3-meter springboard, Mauricio Robles is looking to finish off a great week of diving this evening. The redshirt sophomore form Mexico is in the hunt for his second SEC title on the 10-meter platform, having won as a freshman in 2012. He posted the second-highest score of the preliminary session (401.45).





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago