Stone Named SEC Diver of the Year
April 6, 2017

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Coming off a conference title and a strong performance at the NCAA meet, Tennessee junior Liam Stone was named the SEC Diver of the Year, the league office announced Thursday.

Stone, a native of Auckland, New Zealand, led the conference divers on the national scene, finishing fourth on the 1-meter and 3-meter springboard events at last month's NCAA championships against a star-studded Olympic field.

At the SEC championships held at Tennessee's Allan Jones Intercollegiate Aquatic Center, Stone hit his final dive to capture the 1-meter springboard title with a meet- and school-record score of 468.30. He also placed third in the 3-meter competition (442.90).

He was uniformly outstanding during the dual meet season as well, earning SEC Diver of the Week accolades a conference-leading four times.

The Vols have been voted the SEC Diver of the Year three of the last four years. Mauricio Robles earned the award in 2014 and 2016. Stone was previously the SEC Freshman Diver of the Year in 2015.

Stone returns to international competition this week with the FINA Diving Grand Prix in Gatineau, Canada.

The conference office also formally announced its All-SEC team. Sophomore Madeline Banic, who won the SEC title in the 50-yard freestyle, and freshman Meghan Small, champion in the 200 individual medley, earned first-team honors alongside Stone.

Second-team All-SEC honorees included: Kyle DeCoursey for the men and Colleen Callahan, Erika Brown, Rachel Rubadue and Kira Toussaint for the women. Three Tennessee swimmers were named to the SEC All-Freshman Team: Taylor Abbott on the men's side and Small and Spence Atkins for the women's team.


SEC Diver of the Year: Liam Stone

All-SEC Team:
Liam Stone
Madeline Banic
Meghan Small
Kyle DeCoursey (2nd)
Erika Brown (2nd)
Colleen Callahan (2nd)
Rachel Rubadue (2nd)
Kira Toussaint (2nd)

SEC All-Freshman Team:
Taylor Abbott
Spence Atkins
Meghan Small





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago