Robles Named SEC Diver of the Year

April 10, 2014

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Tennessee redshirt sophomore Mauricio Robles was named the SEC Male Diver of the Year, the conference office announced Thursday.

After missing the second half of last season with a head injury, Robles bounced back stronger than ever this year for Tennessee.

He earned silver medals at the SEC championships on the 1-meter and 3-meter springboard events and also took third play in in the 3-meter competition at the NCAA championships. He scored in all three diving events during the national meet.

Robles, a native of Monterrey, Mexico, was named the 2012 SEC Freshman Diver of the Year in 2012. He is now a four-time All-American.

The SEC released its 2014 All-SEC and SEC All-Freshman Teams. Thirteen Tennessee swimmers and divers made the lists, six men and seven women.

First-team All-SEC honors went to those student-athletes who finished first in each event at the SEC Championships in February, including relays. Second-team All-SEC honors went to the second and third-place finishers in each event at the SEC Championships, including relays. The top freshman finisher in each event was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Sean Lehane, who won the 200 backstroke, earned first-team All-SEC honors on the men's side. He was also a first-team All-American in the event.

Tennessee members on the All-SEC second team include: Robles, Gustav Aberg Lejdstrom, Luke Percy, Sam Rairden and Tristan Slater. Percy, who broke the school record in the 100 freestyle, was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Senior Tori Lamp was UT's All-SEC first team recipient on the women's side, winning her third consecutive SEC title on platform with a meet-record score of 356.10.

Harper Bruens, Lindsay Gendron, Molly Hannis, Faith Johnson, Lauren Solernou and Cherelle Thompson earned second-team All-SEC honors. Gendron is a four-time All-SEC recipient.

Men's Swimming Coach of the Year:
Gregg Troy, Florida
Women's Swimming Coach of the Year: Steve Bultman, Texas A&M

Co-Men's Diving Coach of the Year: Jeff Shaffer, Auburn
Co-Men's Diving Coach of the Year: Jamie Sweeney, Missouri
Women's Diving Coach of the Year: Dan Laak, Georgia

Men's Swimmer of the Year: Marcin Cieslak, Florida
Women's Swimmer of the Year: Brittany MacLean, Georgia

Men's Diver of the Year: Mauricio Robles, Tennessee
Women's Diver of the Year: Laura Ryan, Georgia

Men's Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Mitch D'Arrigo, Florida
Women's Freshman Swimmer of the Year: Olivia Smoliga, Georgia

Men's Freshman Diver of the Year: Jordan Gotro, South Carolina

Men's Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year: T.J. Leon, Auburn
Men's Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Brad deBorde, Florida
Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Shannon Vreeland, Georgia

2014 SEC Swimmers and Divers of the Meet (announced at the SEC Championship)
Men's Swimmer of the Meet:
Sebastien Rousseau, Florida
Women's Swimmer of the Meet: Breeja Larson, Texas A&M

Men's Diver of the Meet: Ford McLiney, Texas A&M
Women's Diver of the Meet: Laura Ryan, Georgia

Men's All-SEC First Team
Marcelo Chierighini, Auburn
Marcin Cieslak, Florida
Kyle Darmody, Auburn
Brad deBorde, Florida
James Disney-May, Auburn
Michael Duderstadt, Auburn
Nicolas Fink, Georgia
Arthur Frayler, Florida
Christian-Paul Homer, Florida
Chase Kalisz, Georgia
Sean Lehane, Tennessee
T.J. Leon, Auburn
Corey Main, Florida
Anton McKee, Alabama
Ford McLiney, Texas A&M
Arthur Mendes, Auburn
Sebastien Rousseau, Florida
John Santeiu, Auburn
Eduardo Solaeche-Gomez, Florida
Dan Wallace, Florida

Men's All-SEC Second Team
Jack Blyzinskyj, Florida
David Bonuchi, Missouri
Vlad Caciuc, Alabama
Matthew Curby, Florida
Mitch D'Arrigo, Florida
Taylor Dale, Georgia
Greg Ferrucci, Kentucky
Andrew Gemmell, Georgia
Kristian Gkolomeev, Alabama
Zane Grothe, Auburn
BJ Hornikel, Alabama
Matias Koski, Georgia
Gustav Aberg Ledjstrom, Tennessee
Fraser McKean, Auburn
Connor Oslin, Alabama
Luke Percy, Tennessee
Sam Rairden, Tennessee
Doug Reynolds, Georgia
Mauricio Robles, Tennessee
Connor Signorin, Florida
Tristan Slater, Tennessee
Ty Stewart, Georgia
Michael Trice, Georgia
Brett Walsh, Alabama
Pawel Werner, Alabama

Men's SEC All-Freshman Team
Pace Clark, Georgia
Mitch D'Arrigo, Florida
Taylor Dale, Georgia
Kyle Darmody, Auburn
Michael Duderstadt, Auburn
Brandon Flynn, Kentucky
Jordan Gotro, South Carolina
Cam Jones, Auburn
Anton McKee, Alabama
Connor Oslin, Alabama
Joe Patching, Auburn
Luke Percy, Tennessee
Brent Sagert, Alabama

Women's All-SEC First Team
Cammile Adams, Texas A&M
Elizabeth Beisel, Florida
Ann-Perry Blank, Georgia
Kaylin Burchell, Alabama
Jessica Graber, Georgia
Lauren Harrington, Georgia
Lili Ibanez-Lopez, Texas A&M
Tori Lamp, Tennessee
Breeja Larson, Texas A&M
Maddie Locus, Georgia
Brittany MacLean, Georgia
Melanie Margalis, Georgia
Amber McDermott, Georgia
Caroline McElhany, Texas A&M
Paige Miller, Texas A&M
Laura Ryan, Georgia
Olivia Smoliga, Georgia
Chantal VanLandeghem, Georgia
Shannon Vreeland, Georgia
Ellese Zalewski, Florida

Women's All-SEC Second Team
Christina Bechtel, Kentucky
Kelli Benjamin, Texas A&M
Sammie Bosma, Texas A&M
Harper Bruens, Tennessee
Erica Dittmer, Texas A&M
Hali Flickinger, Georgia
Lindsay Gendron, Tennessee
Molly Hannis, Tennessee
Sarah Henry, Texas A&M
Natalie Hinds, Florida
\Faith Johnson, Tennessee
Hilda Luthersdottir, Florida
Lindsey McKnight, Florida
Meredith Oliver, Texas A&M
Lauren Reedy, Missouri
Sinead Russell, Florida
Lauren Solernou, Tennessee
Cherelle Thompson, Tennessee
Cassie Weil, LSU
Annie Zhu, Georgia
Rachel Zilinskas, Georgia

Women's SEC All-Freshman Team
Bridget Blood, Alabama
Kendal Casey, Kentucky
Madison Hudkins, Texas A&M
Taylor Katz, Florida
Lindsay Keahey, Kentucky
Kara Kopcso, LSU
Sycerika McMahon, Texas A&M
Allyx Purcell, Auburn
Olivia Smoliga, Georgia
Ellie Suek, Missouri
Danielle Valley, Florida
Taylor Zablocki, Alabama
Rachel Zilinskas, Georgia





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago