17 Swimmers, Divers Named All-Americans

April 15, 2014

Seventeen members of the Tennessee swimming and diving team were named to the CSCAA All-America Team, the college swimming coaches association announced.

The list includes nine Tennessee women and eight men.

First-team All-America honors are earned by placing in the top 8 at the NCAA Championships in either an individual or relay event. Honorable mention accolades are given to those to place 9-16 at the national meets in March.

Senior Lindsay Gendron closed her career by winning the seven All-America honors, earning the award in all seven of her events. She earned the bronze medal in both the 200-yard freestyle and the 200 butterfly and took eighth in the 100 freestyle, setting school records in all three events.

Gendron finishes her career with 25 All-America honors, the most in women's program history.

The UT women had seven swimmers and one diver earn first-team All-America honors in at least one event. In addition to Gendron, the list includes Harper Bruens, Molly Hannis, Faith Johnson, Tori Lamp, Kate McNeilis, Lauren Solernou and Cherelle Thompson. Mary Griffith took honorable mention All-America accolades.

Lamp finished her career earning All-America honors in all three diving events, including first-team honors on the platform. She finishes as a seven-time diving All-American.

On the men's side, Mauricio Robles and Sean Lehane both earned first-team All-America honors with their individual performances at the NCAA meet in Austin, Texas. Robles, the newly crowned SEC Diver of the Year, took bronze on the 3-meter springboard and also scored in the 1-meter and platform competitions. Lehane was seventh in the 200 backstroke.

In addition to Robles and Lehane, three Vols earned first-team All-American honors on relays: Luke Percy, Sam Rairden and Troy Tillman. Honorable mention honors went to Gustav Aberg Lejdstrom, Renato Prono and Tristan Slater.

CSCAA All-Americans

Harper Bruens
Lindsay Gendron
Molly Hannis
Faith Johnson
Tori Lamp
Kate McNeilis
Lauren Solernou
Cherelle Thompson
Mary Griffith (hm)

Sean Lehane
Luke Percy
Sam Rairden
Mauricio Robles
Troy Tillman
Gustav Aberg Lejdstrom (hm)
Renato Prono (hm)
Tristan Slater (hm)





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago