17 Swimmers Earn CSCAA Academic Honors

July 15, 2014

Seventeen members of the Tennessee swimming and diving team earned the CSCAA Scholar All-America Award, the coaching association announced this week.

Twelve UT women and five men were honored for their success in the pool and in academics.

The CSCAA Scholar All-America Award is given to individuals who posted at least a 3.50 GPA during the spring semester and also represented his or her school at the NCAA championships. Honorable mention honors are given to those who achieved a B-cut time or qualified for the NCAA zone diving meet but did not compete in the national championship.

Tennessee's first-team Scholar All-America honorees included Amanda Carner, Anna DeMonte, Lauren Driscoll, Lindsay Gendron, Mary Griffith, Faith Johnson, Christina Leander and Cherelle Thompson for the women and Sean Lehane, Sam Rairden and Tristan Slater for the men.

Sam Petersen and Carl Svagerko were honorable mention recipients for the men. Colleen Callahan, Caroline Finkbeiner, Madison Hahn and Camryne Morris were on the the women's honorable mention list.

Of Tennessee's 12 Scholar All-Americans who competed at the NCAA meet, seven of them also earned All-America honors for their performances: Lehane, Rairden, Slater, Gendron, Griffith, Johnson and Thompson.

Gendron led the way with a maximum seven All-America honors and bronze medals in the 200-yard freestyle and 200 butterfly. She was named a Capital One Academic All-American and received an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship.

Lehane notably became the first Vol since 2008 to reach the NCAAchampionship final of an individual swimming event, placing seventh in the 200 backstroke. He earned six All-America honors at the men's meet to lead the Vols.

CSCAA Scholar All-America
Men (5)

Sean Lehane
Sam Rairden
Tristan Slater
Sam Petersen (honorable mention)
Carl Svagerko (honorable mention)

Women (12)
Amanda Carner
Anna DeMonte
Lauren Driscoll
Lindsay Gendron
Mary Griffith
Faith Johnson
Christina Leander
Cherelle Thompson
Colleen Callahan (honorable mention)
Caroline Finkbeiner (honorable mention)
Madison Hahn (honorable mention)
Camryne Morris (honorable mention)





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago