Blankenship Garners Three SEC Honors

March 1, 2013

2013 SEC Indoor Track & Field Awards
AwardIndividual, Team
M-Coach of the YearChris Bucknam, Arkansas
W-Coach of the YearLance Harter, Arkansas
M-Runner of the YearDeon Lendore, Texas A&M
M-Field Athlete of the YearMarquis Dendy, Florida
M-Fr. Runner of the YearMarkesh Woodson, Missouri
M-Fr. Field Athlete of the YearJake Blankenship, Tennessee
W-Runner of the YearKimberlyn Duncan, LSU
W-Field Athlete of the YearMakeba Alcide, Arkansas
W-Fr. Runner of the YearShaunae Miller, Georgia
W-Fr. Field Athlete of the YearLaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Highlighting the outstanding performers of the 2013 indoor season, the Southeastern Conference announced on Friday that University of Tennessee pole vaulter Jake Blankenship has been named the SEC Men's Freshman Field Athlete of the Year, as voted on by the league's head coaches.

In addition, Blankenship was named second-team All-SEC and to the SEC All-Freshman Team for finishing the conference meet as the top rookie in his event. Vols distance runner Austin Whitelaw was also named to the SEC All-Freshman Team for leading all rookies in the 3,000m at last week's SEC Indoor Championships in Fayetteville, Ark.

Blankenship is the first indoor SEC Men's Freshman Field Athlete of the Year for Director of Track & Field/Cross Country J.J. Clark since taking over the Vols' squad in 2010.

The team honors are based on results from the indoor league championships. The winner in each event, including relays, earns first-team All-SEC recognition. The second-place finisher in each event, including relays, earns second-team All-SEC honors. The top freshman finisher in each event, excluding relays, earns SEC All-Freshman Team acclaim.

Blankenship highlighted the SEC Indoor Championship for the Vols, finishing as the runner-up in the men's pole vault with a lifetime best mark of 18-feet, 2.5-inches (5.55m). Seeking the Vols' 19th SEC indoor pole vault title and the sixth in the past eight seasons, the rookie went head-to-head with defending indoor and outdoor SEC champion, Andrew Irwin of Arkansas.

The Blacklick, Ohio native breezed through the first four heights, surpassing each of them on his first attempt. After clearing 18-0.5 on his second attempt, Blankenship proceeded to improve on his own UT freshman record with a vault of 18-2.5 on his first attempt. After missing the height his first try, Irwin passed on the mark and went on to hit 18-4.5 on his second effort. Blankenship took three shots at the mark, but clipped the bar on each attempt to finish as the runner-up.

The effort improved the UT freshman record to 18-2.5, a march which legendary Vol and Olympic silver medalist Lawrence Johnson held entering the season. Blankenship now ranks third all-time in UT indoor pole vault history. He also currently ranks fifth in the nation and second among freshman as we approach the NCAA Indoor Championships.

Whitelaw, a native of Monroe, Mich., also set a Tennessee freshman record at the league championships, finishing as the top rookie in the men's 3,000-meter at the Randal Tyson Track Center. Whitelaw navigated the banked course in a personal record 8 minutes, 11.68 seconds to best Glenn Morgan's 26-year-old indoor record of 8:13.70. Earlier in the season, the Vol distance runner claimed the UT freshman record in the 5K with a mark of 14:18.11 at the Armory Collegiate Invitational.

As the fifth-ranked pole vaulter in the nation this season, Blankenship has most likely sealed his trip to next week's NCAA Indoor Championships, but 13 other Tennessee track & field athletes will compete at three separate last chance NCAA qualifiers this weekend with hopes of improving the likelihood for receiving a bid to the national meet in Fayetteville, Ark., from March 8-9.

For more information on the Big Orange track & field team, follow @Vol_Track on Twitter.

2013 SEC Indoor Track and Field Teams

Men's First-Team All-SEC
Ricky Babineaux, Texas A&M
Aldrich Bailey, Jr., Texas A&M
Tarik Batchelor, Arkansas
Marquis Dendy, Florida
Cameron Efurd, Arkansas
Aaron Ernest, LSU
Matt Hillenbrand, Kentucky
Andrew Irwin, Arkansas
Anthony Leighio, Arkansas
Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
Deon Lendore, Texas A&M
Eddie Lovett, Florida
Sean Obinwa, Florida
Ricky Robertson, Ole Miss
Patrick Rono, Arkansas
Carlyle Roudette, Texas A&M
Stephen Saenz, Auburn
Garrett Scantling, Georgia
Travis Southard, Arkansas
David Triassi, Florida
Markesh Woodson, Missouri

Men's Second-Team All-SEC
Jake Blankenship, Tennessee
James Bonn, Texas A&M
Gregory Coleman, Texas A&M
Omar Craddock, Florida
Wayne Davis II, Texas A&M
Dedric Dukes, Florida
Damar Forbes, LSU
Najee Glass, Florida
Hugh Graham, Jr., Florida
Charles Grethen, Georgia
Hector Hernandez, Texas A&M
Stanley Kebenei, Arkansas
Anthony May, Arkansas
Jeremy Postin, Florida
Patrick Rono, Arkansas
Marcus Rowland, Auburn
Leonardo Seymore, Florida
Maicel Uibo, Georgia
Caleb Whitener, Georgia

Men's SEC All-Freshman Team
60m: Antwan Wright, Florida
200m: Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU
400m: Eric Janise, Arkansas
800m: Tomas Squella, Arkansas
Mile: Robbie Farnham-Rose, Alabama
3,000m: Austin Whitelaw, Tennessee
5,000m: JL Hines, Florida
60m Hurdles: Joshua Lamers, LSU
HJ: Justin Fondren, Alabama
PV: Jake Blankenship, Tennessee
LJ: Josh McCullan, Alabama
TJ: Jonathon Ilori, Missouri
SP: Ashina Miller, Georgia
WT: Elias Hakansson, Alabama
HEPT: Maicel Uibo, Georgia

Women's First-Team All-SEC
Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Amani Bryant, Florida
Laura Carleton, LSU
Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Gwendolyn Flowers, LSU
Regina George, Arkansas
Denise Hinton, LSU
Hilenn James, Georgia
Charlene Lipsey, LSU
Cally Macumber, Kentucky
Cory McGee, Florida
Sparkle McKnight, Arkansas
LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Alexis Paine, Alabama
Mandy Perkins, Florida
Chanice Porter, Georgia
Jeannelle Scheper, South Carolina
Jasmin Stowers, LSU
Agata Strausa, Florida
Chrishuna Williams, Arkansas

Women's Second-Team All-SEC
Kierre Beckles, South Carolina
Martine Borge, Arkansas
Erica Bougard, Mississippi State
Tyler Brockington, South Carolina
Kamaria Brown, Texas A&M
Ashley Collier, Texas A&M
Keri Emanuel, LSU
Donique Flemings, Texas A&M
Brea Garrett, Texas A&M
Natoya Goule, LSU
Christal Green, South Carolina
Grace Heymsfield, Arkansas
Ivanique Kemp, Arkansas
Kayla Lampe, South Carolina
Sandi Morris, Arkansas
Lucie Ondraschkova, Georgia
Ashton Purvis, Texas A&M
Erika Rucker, South Carolina
Jill Rushin, Missouri
Laura Roxberg, Missouri
Krystle Schade, Alabama
Keri Wood, Arkansas

Women's SEC All-Freshman Team
60m: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
200m: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
400m: Shaunae Miller, Georgia
800m: Kimberley Ficenec, Alabama
Mile: Lily Williams, Vanderbilt
3,000m: Hannah Jumper, Vanderbilt
5,000m: Kayla Lampe, South Carolina
60m Hurdles: Samantha Scarlett, Auburn
HJ: Shanice Hall, LSU
PV: Jessica Johnson, Auburn
LJ: Chanice Porter, Georgia
TJ: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
SP: Valentina Muzaric, Auburn
WT: Becky Famurewa, Kentucky
PENT: Therese Jerrnbeck, LSU





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago