Track & Field Quartet Garners SEC Accolades

May 17, 2013

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Highlighting the outstanding performers of the 2013 outdoor season, the Southeastern Conference announced on Friday that Tennessee track & field athletes Jake Blankenship, Felicia Brown, Matthew Hoty and Cassie Wertman have earned league honors.

Team accolades are based on results from last week’s outdoor league championships in Columbia, Mo. The winner in each event, including relays, earns first team All-SEC recognition, while the second place finisher in each event, including relays, earns second team All-SEC honors. The top freshman finisher in each event, excluding relays, earns SEC All-Freshman Team acclaim.

Finishing as the runner-up in the shot put at last week’s SEC meet, Hoty adds All-SEC Second Team honors to his list of career accolades. A member of the indoor and outdoor SEC All-Freshman team last season, Hoty recorded a push of 61-feet, 11-inches (18.87m) to finish second. Hoty enters next week’s NCAA East Regional with the No. 3 mark in the region, a personal record of 62-8.75 (19.12m), which he set at this season’s Sea Ray Relays.

Notching the best mark among freshmen in their respective events, Blankenship, Brown and Wertman have all earned SEC All-Freshman Team honors for the 2013 outdoor campaign.

After being named the SEC Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year for the indoor season, Blankenship finished fifth in the pole vault competition at last week’s meet with a height of 17-3 (5.26m). The Blacklick, Ohio, native heads to the NCAA East Preliminary Round as the third-ranked vaulter with a height of 18-4.75 (5.61m).

Brown came alive early this outdoor season and continued her success at the SEC Championships, finishing fourth in the 200-meter and leading the Lady Vol 4x100m relay to a fourth-place finish. Her time of 23.22 seconds in the 200m finals made her the league’s top finishing rookie and results in SEC All-Freshman Team honors. The Lithonia, Ga., native will compete in both the 200m and 400m in Greensboro, N.C., next week. She currently stands 10th (23.19) and 12th (53.01) in those events, respectively.

Known best for her shot put skills, Wertman surprised the conference with her fourth-place finish in the discus throw at the SEC Outdoor Championships this season. However, it was her performance in her staple event that earned the Lady Vol SEC All-Freshman Team acclaim. Wertman finished sixth in the shot put at the meet with a throw of 52-0.5 (15.86m). With her SEC performance in the discus, Wertman is now entered in both events at next week’s regional.

Tennessee will send a total of 25 participants over 19 events to the NCAA East Preliminary Round in Greensboro, N.C., from May 23-25. The Vols qualified 15, while the Lady Vols will send 10 athletes to compete at Irwin Belk Track inside Aggie Stadium on the campus of North Carolina A&T.

Below is a complete list of the 2013 SEC Outdoor Track & Field awards.

2013 SEC Outdoor Track and Field Awards

Men’s Coach of the Year: Chris Bucknam, Arkansas
Men’s Runner of the Year: Isiah Young, Ole Miss
Men’s Field Athlete of the Year: Damar Forbes, LSU
Men’s Freshman Runner of the Year: Jimmy Clark, Florida
Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Maicel Uibo, Georgia
Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Nathanael Franks, Arkansas

Women’s Coach of the Year: Pat Henry, Texas A&M
Women’s Runner of the Year: Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Women’s Field Athlete of the Year: Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Women’s Freshman Runner of the Year: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
Women’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Women’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky

Men’s All-SEC First Team
Shermond Allsop, LSU
Ricky Babineaux, Texas A&M
Aldrich Bailey, Jr., Texas A&M
Diondre Batson, Alabama
Rodney Brown, LSU
Kemoy Campbell, Arkansas
Jimmy Clark, Florida
Omar Craddock, Florida
Caleb Cross, Arkansas
Wayne Davis II, Texas A&M
Aaron Ernest, LSU
Damar Forbes, LSU
Sam Humphreys, Texas A&M
Andrew Irwin, Arkansas
Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
Deon Lendore, Texas A&M
Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU
Leoman Momoh, Arkansas
Marcus Popenfoose, Auburn
Patrick Rono, Arkansas
Carlyle Roudette, Texas A&M
DJ Smith, Auburn
Kyle Strawn, Florida
Maicel Uibo, Georgia
Isiah Young, Ole Miss

Men’s All-SEC Second Team
Marquis Dendy, Florida
Raymond Dykstra, Kentucky
Andrew Evans, Kentucky
Dushane Farrier, Alabama
Justin Fondren, Alabama
Akheem Gauntlett, Arkansas
Najee Glass, Florida
Hugh Graham, Jr., Florida
Solomon Haile, Arkansas
Arman Hall, Florida
Akeem Haynes, Alabama
Scottie Hearns, Mississippi State
Matt Hillenbrand, Kentucky
Matthew Hoty, Tennessee
Stanley Kebenei, Arkansas
Sam Kendricks, Ole Miss
Kevin Lazas, Arkansas
Henry Lelei, Texas A&M
Eddie Lovett, Florida
Sean Obinwa, Florida
Jeremy Postin, Florida
Alex Sanders, Alabama
Leonardo Seymore, Florida
Ameer Webb, Texas A&M

Men’s SEC All-Freshman Team
100m: Markesh Woodson, Missouri
110mH: Jermaine Collier, South Carolina
200m: Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, LSU
400m: Arman Hall, Florida
400mH: Scottie Hearns, Mississippi State
800m: Hector Hernandez, Texas A&M
1,500m: Robbie Farnham-Rose, Alabama
Steeplechase: MacKay Wilson, Kentucky
5,000m: Jimmy Clark, Florida
10,000m: Jimmy Clark, Florida
High Jump: Justin Fondren, Alabama
Pole Vault: Jake Blankenship, Tennessee
Long Jump: Jarrion Lawson, Arkansas
Triple Jump: Imani Brown, Alabama
Shot Put: Ashinia Miller, Georgia
Discus: Ashinia Miller, Georgia
Hammer Throw: Elias Hakansson, Alabama
Javelin: Piotr Antosik, Mississippi State
Decathlon: Maicel Uibo, Georgia

Women’s All-SEC First Team
Makeba Alcide, Arkansas
Saniel Atkinson-Grier, Georgia
Ciarra Brewer, Florida
Kamaria Brown, Texas A&M
Ashley Collier, Texas A&M
Kimberlyn Duncan, LSU
Donique’ Flemings, Texas A&M
Gwendolyn Flowers, Arkansas
Regina George, Arkansas
Natoya Goule, LSU
Carly Hamilton, Georgia
Grace Heymsfield, Arkansas
Morgann Leleux, Georgia
Sparkle McKnight, Arkansas
LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Chelsea Oswald, Kentucky
Kearsten Peoples, Missouri
Ashton Purvis, Texas A&M
LaKeidra Stewart, Texas A&M
Elizabeth Tepe, Georgia
Shelbi Vaughan, Texas A&M
Marija Vucenovic, Florida
Chrishuna Williams, Arkansas

Women’s All-SEC Second Team
Kierre Beckles, South Carolina
Leslie Boozer, Georgia
Erica Bougard, Mississippi State
Ebony Eutsey, Florida
Destinee Gause, Florida
Denise Hinton, LSU
Jessie Johnson, Auburn
Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
Megan Malasarte, Georgia
Latoya McDermott, LSU
Cory McGee, Florida
Fawn Miller, Florida
Valentina Muzaric, Auburn
Ugonna Ndu, Florida
Kearsten Peoples, Missouri
Takeia Pinckney, LSU
Robin Reynolds, Florida
Jeannelle Scheper, South Carolina
Agata Strausa, Florida
Toshika Sylvester, LSU
Semehar Tesfaye, Arkansas
Lanie Whittaker, Florida

Women’s SEC All-Freshman Team
100m: Jennifer Madu, Texas A&M
100mH: Racquel Moses, Ole Miss
200m: Felicia Brown, Tennessee
400m: Shaunae Miller, Georgia
400mH: Tyler Brockington, South Carolina
800m: Andria Aguilar, LSU
1,500m: Lily Williams, Vanderbilt
Steeplechase: Jessica Kamilos, Arkansas
5,000m: Jessica Kamilos, Arkansas
10,000m: Katelyn Greenleaf, Alabama
High Jump: Leontia Kallenou, Georgia
Pole Vault: Jessie Johnson, Auburn
Long Jump: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Triple Jump: LaQue Moen-Davis, Texas A&M
Shot Put: Cassie Wertman, Tennessee
Discus: Shelbi Vaughan, Texas A&M
Hammer Throw: Daina Levy, Auburn
Javelin: Marija Vucenovic, Florida
Heptathlon: Jennifer Cannon, Vanderbilt





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago