Dr. Ed Wiener Selected as SEC Hoops Legend
Ed Wiener

Jan. 22, 2014

Dr. Ed Wiener (pronounced: WEE-nuhr) will be UT's representative among the former greats from all 14 Southeastern Conference member institutions who will be honored as the 2014 Allstate® SEC Basketball Legends at the SEC Men's Basketball Tournament March 12-16 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Ga.

Each SEC Basketball Legend will be recognized at halftime of his institution's first game at the tournament.

A native of Brooklyn, N.Y., Wiener was a standout forward for the Volunteers under head coach Emmett Lowery from 1952-55. He led Tennessee in both scoring and rebounding as a sophomore in 1953 and then earned consecutive All-American honors from Converse in 1954 and 1955. He was the first of five total Vols All-Americans who hailed from the state of New York.

Wiener increased his scoring average every year he was in Knoxville and was a first-team All-SEC selection during his senior season. In 73 career games as a Vol, he averaged 16.6 points per game.

Wiener wore No. 19 during his time at Tennessee and was just the third Vol ever to reach the 1,000-point milestone. He currently ranks 31st on Tennessee's all-time scoring list with 1,212 career points.

He was selected by the Philadelphia Warriors in the fourth round of the 1955 NBA Draft.

Wiener - who, interestingly, did not play high school basketball - operates his own dental practice in Memphis, Tenn. His son, Craig Wiener, was a member of the Tennessee basketball team during the 1979-80 season.

This marks the 16th year of the SEC Basketball Legends program.

In addition to Wiener, the 2014 class includes: Eddie Phillips, Alabama; Clint McDaniel, Arkansas; Gerald White, Auburn; Greg Stolt, Florida; D.A. Layne, Georgia; Tony Delk, Kentucky; Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf (Chris Jackson), LSU; Ansu Sesay, Ole Miss; Erick Dampier, Mississippi State; John Brown, Missouri; Gary Gregor, South Carolina; Dr. John Thornton, Texas A&M; Matt Freije, Vanderbilt.


1999 - Reggie Johnson
2000 - A.W. Davis
2001 - Ernie Grunfeld
2002 - Tony White
2003 - Tom Boerwinkle
2004 - Dale Ellis
2005 - Ron Widby
2006 - Bill Justus
2007 - Allan Houston
2008 - Bernard King
2009 - Paul "Lefty" Walther
2010 - Don DeVoe
2011 - Jimmy England
2012 - Gene Tormohlen
2013 - Len Kosmalski
2014 - Ed Wiener





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago