Four Vols Picked in D-League Draft

Nov. 1, 2010

Four former Tennessee basketball players were selected Monday evening in the NBA Developmental League Draft, including guard Chris Lofton, who was taken with the sixth pick of the first round by the Iowa Energy, the NBA minor league affiliate of the Chicago Bulls and Phoenix Suns.

Other former Vols chosen were JaJuan Smith, Bobby Maze and Scooter McFadgon.

Lofton (2005-08), one of the most highly acclaimed players in Tennesee history, earned second team All-America honors twice (2005-06 & 2006-07) and a pair of third team All-America accolades (2004-05 & 2007-08).

The 2006-07 SEC Player of the Year left the Vols first all-time at Tennessee, first in SEC and third in NCAA history with 431 3-pointers made.

Lofton became the sixth player in school history to score 2,000 career points, finishing with 2,131 career points to rank fourth all-time. Lofton's 193 career steals are third all-time at UT. In additon, he owns Tennessee single-game records for 3-pointers made (9), attempted (20) and percentage (5-for-5) and possesses single-season records for 3-pointers made (118), attempted (307) and per game (3.80).

Smith (2005-08) was selected with the 14th pick of the sixth round (94th overall) by the Maine Red Claws, the affiliate of the Boston Celtics and Charlotte Bobcats. At UT, Smith earned Second Team All-SEC honors as a senior, averaging 14.4 points per game during the 2007-08 season.

Maze (2009-10), who was apart of the Vols' historic Elite Eight run last season, will team with Lofton as he was also by the Energy with the sixth pick of the seventh round (102nd overall). Maze started 36 games for the Vols as a senior, leading the team in assists (3.2), free-throw percentage (.840) and ranking fourth in points (9.4).



McFadgon (2004-05) was selected third in the eighth and final round (115th overall) by the Austin Toros (San Antonio Spurs). The two-year letterman, who earned team captain honors as a senior, was the SEC's fourth-leading scorer as a junior averaging 17.6 points per contest.

The NBA D-League began play in the 2001-02 season and currently consists of 16 teams.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago