McRae, Stokes Named to Wooden Award Preseason Top 50
Jordan McRae

Nov. 12, 2013

John Wooden Award List Get Acrobat Reader

The Los Angeles Athletic Club announced its Preseason Top 50 Tuesday, and Tennessee's Jordan McRae and Jarnell Stokes both made the elite list.

Chosen by a preseason poll of national college basketball experts, the list is comprised of 50 student-athletes who are the early front-runners for the sport's most prestigious honor.

McRae is a senior wing from Midway, Ga., who was the second-leading vote-getter for the media's preseason SEC Player of the Year award. Stokes is a junior forward from Memphis, Tenn., who figures to be one of the top rebounders in all of college basketball this season.

Tennessee is one of 11 schools with multiple players on the Preseason Top-50 list.

Tuesday's announcement adds to an already impressive list of preseason honors for McRae and Stokes. Both were named to the media and coaches' preseason All-SEC Teams. Stokes made the Lute Olson preseason All-America Team, and McRae is one of 30 men's basketball candidates for the prestigious Senior CLASS Award.

The players on the Wooden Award Preseason Top-50 list are considered strong candidates for the midseason list and the official voting ballot, which will consist of approximately 20 top players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

The Wooden Award All-American Team, consisting of the nation's top 10 players, will be announced the week of the "Elite Eight" round of the NCAA Tournament.

For the most up-to-date information about the Tennessee basketball program, visit and follow @Vol_Hoops on Twitter and Instagram.

About the John R. Wooden Award
The 38th annual Wooden Award ceremony will honor the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, and will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, which in 2013 will go to Stanford Head Women's Basketball Coach Tara VanDerveer. The event will take place the weekend of April 11-12, 2014.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), Candace Parker ('07 and '08), Kevin Durant ('09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut ('09 and `11). Michigan's Trey Burke won the 2013 Wooden Award presented by Wendy's.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award's name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.

Follow the candidates and get the latest news throughout the season by logging on to





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago