Football Lands 20 on Academic All-SEC

Feb. 10, 2011

Tennessee placed 20 football players among its 38 overall student-athletes on the 2010 Southeastern Conference Fall Academic Honor Roll, as released by Commissioner Mike Slive.

Three Vols, all graduate students, were selected to the league's honor roll for the fourth time in their careers: placekicker Daniel Lincoln of Ocala, Fla., in public administration; linebacker Nick Reveiz of Farragut in sport studies; and defensive back Tyler Wolf of Cookeville in sport psychology. Lincoln also made the SEC Freshman Academic Honor Roll during his redshirt season of 2006.

Three-time honorees on this year's list are linebacker Austin Johnson of Hickory, N.C., in communication studies; and tailback Tauren Poole of Toccoa, Ga., in sport management.

Making the team for a second time were punter Chad Cunningham of Dawsonville, Ga., in graduate sport studies; deep snapper Nick Guess of Knoxville in marketing/international business; linebacker Herman Lathers of Baton Rouge, La., in sport management; deep snapper T.J. Marrs of Bluefield, Va., in logistics; and linebacker Jake Storey of Titusville, Fla., in hotel, restaurant and tourism management.

Among that group, Cunningham and Lathers also are former members of the SEC Freshman Academic Honor Roll.

Ten other Vols made Academic All-SEC for the first time: wide receiver Chris Cates of Knoxville in finance; fullback Sam Edgmon of Pulaski in sport management; fullback Channing Fugate of Jackson, Ky., in kinesiology; offensive tackle Daniel Hood of Knoxville in math education; tight end Ben Lehning of Nashville in sport management; linebacker Nigel Mitchell-Thornton of Stone Mountain, Ga., in entrepreneurship management; wide receiver Zach Rogers of Nashville in finance; offensive guard Jarrod Shaw of Lafayette, La., in graduate agriculture leadership, education and communication; defensive back Mandela Shaw of Memphis in accounting; and defensive back Tyler Wills of Russellville in environmental and soil sciences.



Hood also was recognized last year as a member of the SEC Freshman Academic Honor Roll.

The 2010 SEC Fall Academic Honor Roll recognizes team members from the sports of football, soccer and volleyball and is based on grades from the 2010 spring, summer and fall terms.

Any student-athlete who participates in a Southeastern Conference championship sport or a student-athlete who participates in a sport listed on his/her institution's NCAA Sports Sponsorship Form is eligible for nomination to the Academic Honor Roll. The following criteria should be followed: (1) A student-athlete must have a grade point average of 3.00 or above for either the preceding academic year (two semesters or three quarters) or have a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution. (2) If a student-athlete attends summer school, his/her grade point average during the summer academic term must be included in the calculation used to determine eligibility for the Academic Honor Roll. (3) Student-athletes eligible for the Honor Roll include those receiving an athletics scholarship, recipients of an athletics award (i.e., letter winner), and non-scholarship student-athletes who have been on a varsity team for two seasons. (4) Prior to being nominated, a student-athlete must have successfully completed 24 semester or 36 quarter hours of non-remedial academic credit toward a baccalaureate degree at the nominating institution. (5) The student-athlete must have been a member of a varsity team for the sport's entire NCAA Championship segment.

Tennessee's 2010 SEC Fall Academic Honor Roll Recipients
Football -- Chris Cates, finance; Chad Cunningham, graduate sport studies; Sam Edgmon, sport management; Channing Fugate, kinesiology; Nick Guess, marketing/international business; Daniel Hood, math education; Austin Johnson, communication studies; Herman Lathers, sport management; Ben Lehning, sport management; Daniel Lincoln, graduate public administration; T.J. Marrs, logistics; Nigel Mitchell-Thornton, entrepreneurship management; Tauren Poole, sport management; Nick Reveiz, graduate sport studies; Zach Rogers, finance; Jarrod Shaw, graduate agriculture leadership, education and communication; Mandela Shaw, accounting; Jake Storey, hotel, restaurant and tourism management; Tyler Wills, environmental and soil sciences; Tyler Wolf, graduate sport psychology.

Soccer -- Molly Baird, finance and logistics; Grace Cuenin, special education; Anna Fisher, sociology; Chelsea Hatcher, political science; Lara Langworthy, communications; Alexis Owens, undecided; Emily Shore, political science; Melissa Speros, hotel, restaurant and tourism management; R.B. Wyatt, animal science.

Volleyball -- Jasmine Brown, social work; Leslie Cikra, sport management; Nikki Fowler, marketing; Amanda Friday, psychology; DeeDee Harrison, sport management; Kayla Jeter, sociology; Kelsey Mahoney, nutrition; Emily Steinbeck, kinesiology; Leah Hinkey, psychology.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago