UT To Honor Cutcliffe, Brando At O&W Game

April 1, 2014


KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - Duke head coach and former Tennessee assistant David Cutcliffe has been named 2014 recipient of the Neyland Trophy. Longtime media personality Tim Brando is this year's recipient of the Lindsey Nelson Broadcasting Award.

The award presentation will take place Saturday, April 12, at 10 a.m., at the East Tennessee Chapter of the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame brunch at The Foundry in Knoxville.

Cutcliffe and Brando also will be honored on the field later that afternoon in pregame ceremonies before Tennessee's annual DISH Orange & White Game.

David Cutcliffe, the 2013 National Coach of the Year who has earned both ACC and SEC Coach of the Year honors in a distinguished career that includes the mentoring of Super Bowl MVP quarterbacks Peyton and Eli Manning, has been the head coach at Duke University since the 2008 season.

In 2013, Cutcliffe guided the Blue Devils to a school record 10 wins, including the ACC Coastal Division championship and an appearance in the 46th annual Chick-fil-A Bowl where Duke's matchup with Texas A&M registered nearly nine million viewers to rank as ESPN's most-watched non-BCS bowl game. For his efforts, Cutcliffe was named the National Coach of the Year by five outlets -- American Football Coaches Association, Bobby Dodd Foundation, Maxwell Football Club, Sporting News and Walter Camp Foundation -- while earning his second consecutive ACC Coach of the Year citation.

Duke's ascension to the top of the division standings has been spearheaded by Cutcliffe, who took over the program prior to the 2008 campaign after the Blue Devils had won just 10 total games in the previous eight seasons. The 2013 season included an eight-game winning streak (Duke's longest since 1941), the program's first appearance in the BCS standings and final national rankings in both polls (22nd by USA Today/Coaches & 23rd by Associated Press) to mark Duke's first showing in a final poll since 1962. Cutcliffe, who in 2013 directed the Blue Devils to a school record four fourth quarter victories as well as, for the first time since 1971, two wins over nationally-ranked opponents, also became the first coach in Duke history to guide the Blue Devils to bowl games in consecutive seasons.

Cutcliffe has participated in 24 bowl games including the 1982 Peach, 1983 Florida Citrus, 1984 Sun, 1986 Sugar, 1986 Liberty, 1988 Peach, 1990 Cotton, 1991 Sugar, 1992 Fiesta, 1993 Hall of Fame, 1994 Florida Citrus, 1994 Gator, 1996 Florida Citrus, 1997 Florida Citrus, 1998 Orange, 1998 Independence, 1999 Independence, 2000 Music City, 2002 Independence, 2004 Cotton, 2007 Outback, 2008 Outback, 2012 Belk and 2013 Chick-fil-A. He owns a 4-3 (.571) record as a head coach in bowl tilts with wins over Oklahoma, Nebraska, Oklahoma State and Texas Tech.

As a member of the coaching staff at Tennessee from 1982-98 and from 2006-07, Cutcliffe helped the Volunteers to five SEC championships, 16 bowl games in 17 seasons and the national title in 1998. His first tenure with the Vols featured the mentoring of quarterbacks Andy Kelly, Heath Shuler, Tee Martin and Peyton Manning.

A native of Birmingham, Ala., Cutcliffe has guided the Blue Devils to 31 victories in his five-plus seasons after Duke managed just 10 wins in the previous eight years.

Tim Brando worked for CBS Sports from 1996 until 2014. He has also served as a broadcaster for ESPN from 1986 to 1994, where he served as a studio host for SportsCenter and the original host of ESPN's College Gameday.

He is currently hosting the Tim Brando Show on Sirius XM Sports Nation.

He has served as studio host for College Basketball on CBS and College Football on CBS/SEC on CBS. He has also handled play-by-play for College Basketball on CBS, College Basketball on FSN, College Basketball on Raycom (formally Jefferson-Pilot) and formally with Jefferson-Pilot. Brando has also called basketball games for the LSU Tigers and LSU Lady Tigers.

On the professional basketball side, he has provided play-by-play for the Atlanta Hawks, TNT, and Turner Sports. He has provided play-by-play for College Football on CBS and NFL on CBS and serves the same capacity with the New Orleans Saints. Before working for CBS and Raycom, he was an anchor for SportsCenter as well as a studio host for college basketball and football on ESPN as well as providing some play-by-play for ESPN's coverage of college football. In addition to football and basketball, Brando also called Atlanta Braves games.

Gen. Robert R. Neyland Trophy

The Neyland Trophy is awarded annually by the Knoxville Quarterback Club to an outstanding man who has contributed greatly to intercollegiate athletics. The first presentation in 1967 went to Nathan W. Dougherty and Herman Hickman. Dougherty was the man who hired Gen. Neyland in 1926, and Hickman was Neyland's his first All-America lineman who later became head coach at Yale. The permanent trophy is displayed in the Tennessee Hall of Fame Exhibit in the Neyland-Thompson Sports Center on the University of Tennessee campus.

1967 - Nathan W. Dougherty, Tennessee
1967 - Herman Hickman, Yale
1968 - Wallace Wade, Alabama
1969 - Bobby Dodd, Georgia Tech
1970 - John Barnhill, Arkansas
1971 - Jess Neely, Rice
1972 - John Vaught, Mississippi
1973 - Bud Wilkinson, Oklahoma
1974 - Fritz Crisler, Michigan
1975 - Lynn "Pappy" Waldorf, California
1976 - John McKay, Southern California
1977 - Darrell Royal, Texas
1978 - Ralph "Shug" Jordan, Auburn
1979 - Frank Broyles, Arkansas
1980 - Bob Devaney, Nebraska
1981 - Ara Parseghian, Notre Dame
1982 - Bill Murray, Duke
1983 - Paul "Bear" Bryant, Alabama
1984 - Woody Hayes, Ohio State
1985 - Duffy Daugherty, Michigan State
1986 - Bob Woodruff, Tennessee
1987 - Charles McClendon, LSU
1988 - LaVell Edwards, Brigham Young
1989 - Vince Dooley, Georgia
1990 - Bo Schembechler, Michigan
1991 - Murray Warmath, Minnesota
1992 - Bobby Bowden, Florida State
1993 - Grant Teaff, Baylor
1994 - Jerry Claiborne, Kentucky
1995 - Dan Devine, Notre Dame
1996 - Hayden Fry, Iowa
1997 - Terry Donahue, UCLA
1998 - Lou Holtz, Notre Dame
1999 - Eddie Robinson, Grambling
2000 - Tom Osborne, Nebraska
2001 - Doug Dickey, Tennessee
2002 - Gene Stallings, Alabama
2003 - Johnny Majors, Pittsburgh
2004 - John Gaglidardi, St. John's (Minn.)
2005 - Barry Switzer, Oklahoma
2006 - John Cooper, Ohio State
2007 - John Robinson, UNLV
2008 - Lloyd Carr, Michigan
2009 - Phillip Fulmer, Tennessee
2010 - Ken Sparks, Carson-Newman
2011 - R.C. Slocum, Texas A&M
2012 - Fisher DeBerry, Air Force
2013 - Mack Brown, Texas

The Lindsey Nelson Broadcasting Award

Nelson's radio and television career began in 1948 as the very first Voice of the Vols. He helped form the Vol Network before embarking on a national broadcasting career in which he covered thousands of sporting events over the next five decades. Nelson, who died in 1995, is a member of 13 different halls of fame.

In memory of his contributions to the broadcasting profession, this award is bestowed on a broadcaster who has exemplified Nelson's passion for broadcasting in their careers.

1998 - John Ward
1999 - Keith Jackson
2000 - Ron Franklin
2001 - Cawood Ledford
2002 - Chris Schenkel
2003 - Verne Lundquist
2004 - Jack Cristil
2005 - Jim Fyffe
2007 - Larry Munson
2009 - Mike Gottfried
2010 - George Mooney
2011 - Jim Hawthorne
2012 - Bob Neal
2013 - Lee Corso





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago