April 2, 2007

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. - Tennessee's Jonathan Hefney is among 42 of the top defensive players in the nation to be named to the 2007 Lott Trophy Watch List, it was announced today.

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its fourth year, The Lott Trophy is the first college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Hefney is a 5-9, 186-pound senior from Rock Hill, S.C. He was an All-SEC second team choice last season.

David Pollack of Georgia won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004. DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the award in 2005 and Daymeion Hughes of California was the recipient in 2006. Georgia, Alabama and Cal each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds. In three years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has donated nearly $300,000 to various charities, including the three universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, The IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisers comprised of many retired NFL players and Master Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.

The winner will be announced Dec. 9 at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

2007 LOTT TROPHY WATCH LIST: Xavier Adibi, LB, Virginia Tech; Jamar Adams, S, Michigan; Josh Barrett, S, Arizona State; Tommy Blake, DE, Texas Christian; Caleb Campbell, DB, Army; Jonathan Casillas, LB, Wisconsin; Antoine Cason, DB, Arizona; Simeon Castille, CB, Alabama; Dan Connor, LB, Penn State; Shawn Crable, LB, Michigan; Maurice Crum, LB, Notre Dame; Brian Cushing, LB, Southern California; Bruce Davis, DE, UCLA; Jordan Dizon, LB, Colorado; Glenn Dorsey, DL, LSU; Sedrick Ellis, DT, Southern California; Zack Follett, LB, California; Eric Foster, DT, Rutgers; Vince Hall, LB, Virginia Tech; Chris Harrington, DL, Texas A&M; Nic Harris, DB, Oklahoma; Derrick Harvey, DL, Florida; Jonathan Hefney, S, Tennessee; Chris Horton, CB, UCLA; Kelin Johnson, SS, Georgia; Cody Kase, LB, New Mexico; Drew Kelson, LB, Texas; Mike Klinkenborg, LB, Iowa; Nick Larkin, DE, Boston College; James Laurinaitis, LB, Ohio State; J Leman, LB, Illinois; Chris Long, DL, Virginia; Derek Lokey, DT, Texas; Dwight Lowery, CB, San Jose State; Marc Magro, LB, West Virginia; Jeff Van Orsow, DL, Oregon State; Darryl Richard, DT, Georgia Tech; Keith Rivers, LB, Southern California; Bo Ruud, LB, Nebraska; Eric Wicks, DB, West Virginia; Wesley Woodyard, LB, Kentucky; Tom Zbikowski, S, Notre Dame.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago