Vols Jersey Countdown #73

June 19, 2012

Timber Tops
Will Ofenheusle
Offensive Line (1999-2002)

Will Ofenheusle was a mainstay on the offensive line during his four seasons on Rocky Top. The 2002 All-SEC first team selection played in every game of his collegiate career (50) for the Vols from 1999-2002, starting 31. A team captain in 2002, Ofenheusle also earned Third-team All-America honors by the Associated Press as a senior. He started every game his last two seasons at UT."

Lee North
Offensive Line (1978-81)
"Number 73 was my number in High School so when I came to UT, I asked for it. The number 73 was a lucky number for me. I felt that after wearing 73 for four years in High School and four years at UT, it was my number and she became a part of me. Today, people will come up to me and remember my jersey number. That is a special feeling to receive from the great fans of UT."
Charles Rader
Offensive Line (1954-56)
"I wore number 73 because it was assigned to me as an offensive tackle/defensive guard when I made the varsity squad. As chemistry major, I had to acquire a working knowledge of the German language. This became quite useful during our games, since offensive blocking assignments often changed with the specific defense used against us and our opponents most likely did not know German. I taught the guard and end beside me enough German to enable quick communication just before the ball snap of a play. This markedly diminished the chance of a mental error which could easily ruin a play, since we knew for sure what each other would be doing against the defense we were facing. The dividend of this was quite rewarding."

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 73 with the Vols was.


Bob Cruikshank - 1941

Tom Drost - 1946-48

Frank Giles - 1951

Charles Rader - 1954-56

Johnny Warwick - 1957

Ken Frost - 1958-60

Dale Brown - 1961

Bob Zvolerin - 1962-63

Terry Bird - 1964

Gary Melton - 1965-67

Ben Bass - 1968

Gaylon Hill - 1969-72

Greg Phillips - 1973-76

Mike Cunningham - 1977

Lee North - 1978-81

John Bruhin - 1983

Joel Farmer - 1984-85

Doug Baird - 1987-90

Trey Peterson - 1992-95

Josh Campbell - 1998

Will Ofenheusle - 1999-2002

Michael Fogg - 2005-07

Preston Bailey - 2008

Brandon Galyon - 2009

Darin Gooch - 2010-Present

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago