Vols Jersey Countdown #69

June 23, 2012

Timber Tops
Cory Sullins
Offensive Line (2008-09)

Cory Sullins. . former walk-on who earned a scholarship in 2009, played 15 games in his final two seasons on Rocky Top, including all 13 in 2009, 10 of which were starts. The final 10 starts were alongside his brother Cody as they were part of an offensive line that helped tailback Montario Hardesty (now with the Cleveland Browns) gain 1,345 rushing yards and quarterback Jonathan Crompton throw for 2,800 passing yards. Sullins was a four-time Academic All-SEC selection. His response to wearing the number 69: "Number 69 was special to me because it took me a long time to earn it. I came to UT in 2005 as a walk-on before earning a scholarship in 2009, and over the next three years I had a few different numbers (72, 65, 55) that changed every year - not to mention all of the different "scout team" jersey numbers I put over those years - and my locker number was 133. In my fourth year, I made it off of the "scout team" and on to the secont team O-Line. I walked in one day and they were moving my stuff to locker No. 69, and told me that would be my new number going forward. Honestly it wouldn't have been my first choice had they asked me, but I was so grateful to get it that I wasn't going to ask for another one. As a walk-on, earning your number is definitely a gratifying experience, so that number is definitely special to me."

Allan Carson
Defensive Line (2011-Present)
"I chose 69 because the number six is indicative of cooperation, balance, tranquility and family. The number nine is so close to 10 that it symbolized the hard work and dedication to be on top. That's why I like 69."

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 69 with the Vols was.


Allen Chandler - 1942

Edward Dillingham - 1944

Vernon Hueser - 1946-48

Jerry Morris - 1949-51

Charles Johnson - 1952-53

Frank McCroskey - 1954

Carson Fraser - 1955

Tommy Cheek - 1957

Leon Smartt - 1958-60

Rex Dockery - 1961-63

Jerry McKelvy - 1965

Steve Puckett - 1967-68

Rob Frere - 1969-70

Carl Witherspoon - 1971-72

Leo Milewicz - 1973

Joey Bowen - 1974-75

Chris Webster - 1977

Mark Love - 1978

Johnny Hibbett - 1983

Mike Rapien - 1987-88

Richie Now - 1992

Ethan Massa - 1998-99

Zach Davis - 2001

Jeremy Hayes - 2003

Ryan West - 2005-06

Cory Sullins - 2008-09

Allan Carson - 2011

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago