Vols Jersey Countdown #54

July 8, 2012

Timber Tops
Abe Shires
Tackle (1938-40)

Tackle Abe Shires earned his share of glory as a member of the best lines ever at Tennessee. Shires earned All-America status his junior year of 1939 by paving the road for the legendary backfield of Bob Foxx, Leonard Coffman, George Cafego and Sam Bartholomew. Shires was part of the unprecedented and unparalleled three-year stretch in which the Vols went undefeated in three consecutive regular seasons. His blocking and tackling helped Tennessee to outscore its opponents 837-75 and be crowned SEC champions 1938, 1939 and 1940.

Bob Johnson
Center (1965-67)

Center Bob Johnson left UT as one of the most decorated athletes in school history. Doug Dickey's first recruit struggled making snaps his sophomore year after moving over from the tackle position, but rebounded to garner All-America status in 1966. As captain of the 1967 Vols, Johnson lived up to his preseason hype by earning his second All-SEC and All-America nods with unanimous votes. Johnson was awarded the Jacobs Trophy, given to the SEC's best blocker, and the Birmingham Touchdown Club named him the SEC's Most Outstanding Lineman. In addition, Johnson finished sixth in the Heisman voting as a center. He was the No. 1 NFL draft pick by the expansion Cincinnati Bengals in 1968 and went on to play 154 games with them them until 1979. Johnson was elected to the College Football Hall of Fame in 1989.

"I wore number 54 at UT because it was available, but later the number became special to me since I wore it for 12 years with the Cincinnati Bengals where 54 is the only number to have been retired by the Bengals."

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 54 with the Vols was.

Bob Fulton - 1937
Abe Shires - 1938,39,40
James O'Brien - 1941
Harry Coleman - 1942
Raymond Schlieden - 1944
Bill Grissom - 1945
Joe Sabol - 1946
Russ Dobelstein - 1948,49
Francis Holohan - 1950,51,52
Frank Menendez - 1963
Chuck Iorio - 1964
Bob Johnson - 1965,66,67
David Browne - 1968,69,70
Eddie Wilson - 1971,72,73
Robert Morton - 1974,75
Rick Power - 1977,78 Rob Thompson - 1980,79,81
Dale Jones - 1982,83,84,85,86
Houston Thomas - 1988,89,90
Rodney Riddick - 1991,92,93
Diron Robinson - 1995,96,97,98
Wesley Holmes - 2002
Eric Young - 2004,05,06,07
William Brimfield - 2008,09
Jordan Williams - 2011

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago