Bray, Rogers On Maxwell Watch List

July 9, 2012

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.. . A pair of Tennessee juniors, quarterback Tyler Bray and wide receiver Da'Rick Rogers, have each been named to the watch list for the 77th annual Maxwell Award. The award is named in honor of sportswriter Robert R. "Tiny" Maxwell and has honored college football's outstanding player in each year since 1937.

Bray and Rogers represent two of the 13 SEC student-athletes, and UT is one of only three schools in the conference with multiple players on the 65-player list, joining Alabama (two players) and Arkansas (three players). The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential.

A native of Kingsburg, Calif., Bray has played in 16 games for the Vols in his career, including 12 starts, and already ranks among the school's career passing leaders in touchdowns (7th, 35), completions (10th, 272), and yards (3,832). He has completed 272 of 471 passing attempts for his career (57.7%), and in 2011, he completed 147-of-247 passes for 1,983 yards, 17 touchdowns, and six interceptions, averaging 283.3 passing yards per game. Bray is 8-4 in his career as a starter and owns the UT records for consecutive games with multiple touchdown passes (10) and most passing yards in the first four games of a season (1,328).

Rogers, from Calhoun, Ga., was named to the first team of the Associated Press All-SEC team in 2011 after leading the conference with 1,040 yards receiving and finishing second in the league with both 67 receptions and nine receiving touchdowns. He was the sixth Vol to post . .,000-yard receiving season (seventh time; Joey Kent accomplished the feat twice), and his yards and receptions totals from a year ago ranked fifth and sixth, respectively, in Tennessee history. In 25 career games at UT, including 12 starts, Rogers has caught 78 passes for 1,207 yards and 11 touchdowns.



Peyton Manning is the only Tennessee player to win the Maxwell Award, capturing the honor in 1997.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 29, and the three finalists will be unveiled on Nov. 19. The winner of the 2012 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 6, 2012.



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago