Vols Jersey Countdown #50

July 12, 2012

Timber Tops
Chip Kell
Guard (1968-70)

College Football Hall of Famer Chip Kell set the standard for blocking guards at Tennessee by becoming a two-time All-American, a two-time Jacobs Trophy winner for being the SEC's best blocker and a three-time All-SEC member. Kell manned the line that allowed Curt Watson to pace the Vols three straight years, including an 807-yard season in the 1969 SEC title year. In 1970, Kell helped block for the Vols to run for 2,365 yards, the most since 1951. Kell's protection allowed the Vols to pass for 1,996 yards, the most in school history at that time. The Vols had eight 100-yard rushing games during Kell's junior and senior seasons

Frank Emanuel
Linebacker/Center (1963-65)

Continuing the tradition of stout linebackers, College Football Hall of Famer Frank Emanuel fulfilled the role valiantly for two years under coach Doug Dickey, earning All-America status his senior year of 1965. Emanuel started his junior and senior seasons, Dickey's first two years commanding the Vols in which he eliminated the two-way player. That's when Emanuel flourished as the Vols went 8-1-2 and beat Tulsa in the Bluebonnet Bowl. Tennessee's defense allowed only 98 points that season. The Vols haven't held their opponents to fewer points in a season since. In eight of the 11 games, Emanuel and the Vols held their opponent to a touchdown or less.

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 50 with the Vols was.

Edwin Sellers - 1938
Don Edmiston - 1939,40,41
Paul Lipscomb - 1942
Robert Folger - 1944
Ray Ashley - 1945
Bob Hicks - 1946,47
J.W. Sherrill - 1948,49,50
Bill Addonizio - 1951
Greg Maushart - 1952
Bubba Howe - 1954,55,56
Bill Gudalis - 1958,59
L.T. Helton - 1960,61,62
Frank Emanuel - 1963,64,65
Paul Naumoff - 1966
Steve Wold - 1967
Chip Kell - 1968,69,70
Steve Urubek - 1971,72,73
Andy Spiva - 1974,75,76
Jeff Polofsky - 1977
Danny Spradlin - 1978,79,80
Jeff McMichael - 1981,82
Johnny Hibbett - 1984,85,86
Tom Myslinski - 1988,89,90,91
Bill Duff - 1994,95,96,97
Kayon Whiteside - 1999,00,01,02
Nick Wilson - 2004
Bill Martin - 2005
Josh McNeil - 2006,07,08,09
Raiques Crump - 2010,11

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago