Six Vols Honored On Preseason All-SEC List

July 18, 2013


Full SEC Release

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - Six members of the Tennessee football team were named to the Preseason Media Days All-SEC team as announced by the Southeastern Conference Thursday.

Junior A.J. Johnson earned first team accolades while offensive linemen Ja'Wuan James and Antonio Richardson found themselves on the second team.

Fellow linemen Zach Fulton and James Stone were named to the third team joined by defensive lineman Daniel McCullers.

The Vols were picked by the media to finish fifth in the SEC East.

The six Vols preseason All-SEC selections ranks fifth in the conference behind Alabama, LSU, Florida and Georgia.

The preseason media day selections were chosen by 243 voters, the most voters in SEC Media Days history.

Johnson, a 2012 All-SEC linebacker, finished the season fourth in the NCAA in tackles and tackles per game with 138 for 11.5 per game leading the SEC in tackles in his 12 starts.

A leader in the middle linebacker role, Johnson also had team-high 8.5 TFLs for 25 yards along with his first-career sack and eight quarterback hurries. He posted the most tackles by a Vol since Jerod Mayo made 140 in 2007 while his 75 assisted tackles are the third-most in a season at UT.

Johnson averaged 12.9 tackles over the last 10 games of the season with at least 11 tackles in each game.

The Vols offensive line, helped pave the way for an offense that averaged 477.6 yards per game and allowed just seven sacks, the second fewest in the NCAA in 2012.

The front has accumulated a plethora of preseason honors including the ranking of the No. 2 overall offensive line in the nation and best in the SEC from Lindy's and Athlon Sports.

In his first season at Rocky Top, McCullers made an instant impact on the Tennessee defensive line, starting seven games and accumulating 39 tackles, including 5.5 for negative yardage.

Vols Preseason All-SEC Selections

First Team
LB - A.J. Johnson

Second Team
OL- Antonio Richardson
OL - Ja'Wuan James

Third Team
OL - Zach Fulton
OL - James Stone
DL - Daniel McCullers

Eastern Division (First place votes)
1. Georgia (149)
2. South Carolina (75)
3. Florida (19)
4. Vanderbilt
5. Tennessee
6. Missouri
7. Kentucky

Western Division(First place votes)
1. Alabama (225)
2. Texas A&M (11)
3. LSU (7)
4. Ole Miss
5. Auburn
6. Mississippi State
7. Arkansas

SEC Champion - Alabama





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago