Vols Jersey Countdown #43

July 19, 2012

Timber Tops
Mallon Faircloth
Tailback/Quarterback (1961-63)

Mallon Faircloth was a tailback and quarterback for the 1961-63 Vols. He threw for 1,230 yards and 13 touchdowns in his career. He also gained 1,503 yards on the ground, scoring 10 touchdowns. On special teams, Faircloth punted, returned kicks and returned punts. He also had five interceptions on defense in 1962..

"Number 43 was assigned to me simply because it was a forty number and all of the single wing tailbacks wore a forty something number. It became very special however in Tennessee trivia because I was the last Tennessee single wing tailback."

Tom Hutton
Punter (1991-94)
"My original number was 143, but was changed to 43 when I made the first-team roster as a freshman walk on punter in 1991. Coach Majors awarded me a scholarship at practice in front of our team the week of the Ole Miss game in 1991. It was very special to me, because I felt like I had earned it, rather than being given a scholarship right out of high school. Playing at Tennessee and in the SEC was one of the most fulfilling experiences in my life."

Ryan Hill
Fullback (2007-08)
"Coming out of Fall Camp my junior year in 2007 I was issued # 43. I had a great camp and earned a spot in the goal line package and special teams. Growing up, I dreamed of playing for the Tennessee Volunteers. The first game I wore it was at California, which was also the first game I played in. It was one of the most exciting times in my life. The number 43 is special to me because it was truly a dream come true. Being able to play for and represent the University of Tennessee is something I will cherish forever."

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 43 with the Vols was.

Charles Fields - 1937
Henry Noel - 1939,40,41
Claude McQuady - 1944,45
Dick Fulton, - 1946
John Gruble - 1947,48,49,50
Bob Fisher - 1951,52,53
Gene Etter - 1958, 59,60
Mallon Faircloth - 1961,62,63
Harold Stancell - 1964,65 66
George Silvey - 1968,69,70,71
Mike Gayles - 1974,75,76
Terry Daniels - 1978, 79,80,81
Sam Henderson - 1983,84,85
Jeff Gibson - 1987
Scott Sparks - 1988
Keith Steed - 1989,90
Tom Hutton - 1992,93,94
David Leaverton - 1997,98,99,00
Chris Health - 2002,03,04
David Yancey - 2005,06
Roy Olasimbo - 2007
Ryan Hill - 2008
Savion Frazier - 2008,09,10
Martaze Jackson - 2011

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago