Vols Jersey Countdown #39

July 23, 2012

Timber Tops
Ryan Karl
Linebacker (2005-07)

Ryan Karl played in 49 games during his career with the Vols and piled up 170 tackles including 14.5 tackles for a loss. He also had 12 pass break-ups. Karl was an SEC Academic Honor Roll member in 2005. The Franklin, Tenn., native had a career-high 85 tackles in 2007 in helping the Vols to the SEC Championship game.

Brad Symonds
Defensive Back (1994)
"I was one of many Volunteers for the Vols. I grew up in Hendersonville, Tenn., and moved with my family to South Windsor, Conn., when I was 13. I had always dreamed of going back to Tennessee to play football in my home state for my beloved Vols. I was given the opportunity ay UT as an invited walk on in 1991. Through hard work and dedication to the school and my team, I was given the #39 my junior year when I made the travel team for the first time. The #39 was and is special to me today because it was something that I truly earned. I cherish the #39 to this day."

Duan Henry
Linebacker (1982)
"I played linebacker in 1982 and I wore number 39. The reason I wore it was I couldn't get the number I wanted, number 21 due to Jimmy Colquitt having it. I was given number 39 and really didn't want it till, I remember that a guy named Larry Csonka had wore that number. I loved watching him run the football and admire the way he played the game with reckless abandon. I then wore that number with the pride that comes with wearing any orange or white jersey for the University of Tennessee."

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 39 with the Vols was.

George Hunter - 1937,38
Ray Cannon - 1939
Edward Osborne - 1940,41
Jim Powell - 1942
Carol Wood - 1944,45,46
Charles Flora - 1947,48,49,50
Paul Walker - 1952
Bob Williams - 1953
Jim McNamara - 1965
Ken Scott - 1966
Don Carpenter - 1969,70
Pike Jones - 1972
Brian Arquitt - 1973
Kevin Davis - 1975,76
Johnny Watts - 1977
Bobby Thompson - 1978
Vernon Phillips - 1981
Duan Henry - 1982
Tim Welch - 1984,85
Kelly Days - 1987,88,89,90
Randy Banks - 1991
Jack Jakobik - 1992
Brad Symonds - 1994
Larry Binion - 1995,96
Andre James - 1998,99,00,01
Robert Williams - 2004,05
Ryan Karl - 2005,06,07
Grant Jessen - 2011
Ben Bartholomew - 2008,09,10,11

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago