Vols Jersey Countdown #37

July 25, 2012

Timber Tops
Bowden Wyatt
End (1937-38)

In 1938, Bowden Wyatt captained the Gen. Robert R. Neyland-led troops to an 11-0 season while playing right end on a loaded Volunteers team that included Hall of Fame names such as Molinski, Suffridge and Cafego in the days of the two-way player. The Vols had six shutouts on the season. The final shutout capped the year with Wyatt manning the defensive line and kicking a field goal in Tennessee's 17-0 Orange Bowl victory over Oklahoma, the Vols' first official bowl game. That 1938 season, Tennessee outscored its opponents 283-16 with Wyatt on the defensive line. Wyatt was an All-America and All-SEC selection in 1938. Spurned chance at Hollywood riches to pursue coaching career including 1955-62 with the Vols along with stints at Arkansas and Wyoming. Wyatt passed away on January 21, 1969.

Peerless Price
Wide Receiver (1996-98)

The hero of the 1998 National Championship game, Peerless Price holds a special place in the hearts of Tennessee fans. An All-SEC Second Team selection in 1998, Price had 61 catches for 920 yards and 10 touchdowns in the championship season. In his career, Price racked up 147 career catches for 2,298 yards and 19 TDs. His catches ranks fourth all-time, yardage stands third and TDs is also fourth. Price had four catches for 199 yards in the 1999 Fiesta Bowl including a 79-yard pass from Tee Martin. Price was a second-round draft pick by the Buffalo Bills in 1999 and played nine years in the NFL with the Bills, Falcons and Cowboys.

Adam Epstein
Placekicker (1987-88)
"I was a kicker who lettered in 1988 though I was on the team from 1984-1988. Indeed, I was a walk-on. I would say, my favorite thing about wearing Number 37 was that being a walk-on, having a number of your own was an affirmation that you became a full-fledged member of the team. It was like a rite of passage."

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 37 with the Vols was.

Bowden Wyatt - 1937,38
Willard Norton - 1939
Clayton Stapleton - 1941
Ben Huddleston - 1942
Luther Kesterson - 1944,45
Clayton Stapleton - 1946,47
Bill Baker - 1948
Don Bordinger - 1949,50,51
Ed Thomas - 1952
Lee Mace - 1964
Ken Scott - 1965
Jimmy Thomas - 1967,68,69
Conrad Graham - 1970,71,72
Mike Poland - 1973,74
Glen Powers - 1976
Pete Haley - 1977
Clark Duncan - 1978,79,80
John Brown - 1981
Bryan Coffey - 1985,86
Adam Epstein - 1987,88
Carey Baker - 1990
Jesse Sanders - 1992
Neal Kerney - 1993,94
Bo Campbell - 1995
Peerless Price - 1996,97,98
Eddie Moore - 2000,01,02
Ryan Fusco - 2005
Antonio Gaines - 2004,05,06,07,08
Nigel Mitchell-Thornton - 2009,10
Brian Randolph - 2011

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago