Vols Jersey Countdown #35

July 27, 2012

Timber Tops
William Howard
Running Back (1984-87)

A four-year letterwinner and member of the 1985 Sugar Vols squad, William Howard was a key contributor at Tennessee before going on to play for two seasons in the NFL with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. The Lima, Ohio, native played 42 games at UT from 1984-87, rushing 398 times for 1,711 yards and 21 touchdowns, while catching 70 passes for 610 yards and one score. His best season came in 1986 when, despite playing in just eight contests, he was named second team All-SEC after rushing for 787 yards and 14 touchdowns. Howard would go on to post two solid seasons in the NFL with the Bucs. In 31 career games, he carried the ball 223 times for 809 yards and averaged 7.0 yards per catch with 41 grabs for 285 yards.

Jack Patterson
Running Back (1963-65)
"As a child, my fondest memory was watching UT playbacks on Sunday nights with my Dad on a small black and white TV. Johnny Majors was my hero. I remember declaring every Sunday night to my Dad that someday I would play for UT. After my childhood dream came true, any number would have been magic to me. What was special about number 35 is that it was a white numeral on an orange fabric . . combination of colors that I held in reverence. Parenthetically, I recently spoke with Coach Majors. He reminded me that he had recruited me to play for him at Mississippi State, and I turned him down. My reply to him was, "Not so Coach. You recruited me to play for UT long before you began your coaching career!"
Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 35 with the Vols was.

Robert Sneed - 1937-38
Robert Morris - 1939
Lawrence Zontini - 1941-42
John Manning - 1944-45
George Balitsaris - 1946-48
John O'Grady - 1949
Basil Drake - 1950
Stan Lis - 1951-52
Edd Cantrell - 1953
Jan Craig - 1954-55
Hilrey Carr - 1955,58
Frank Musgrave - 1962
Jack Patterson - 1963-65
Tom Callaway - 1967-69
Sid Witherington - 1972-74
Rick Berkhan - 1975
Nate Sumpter - 1976-79
Chuck Coleman - 1981-83
William Howard - 1984-87
Clemons McCroskey - 1989-90
Cleon Mitchell - 1992-93
Shawn Johnson - 1996-98
Justin Satterfield - 1999
Chip Waters - 1999
Steven Lee - 2000
Jason Mitchell - 2002-05
Ellix Wilson - 2006-08
Robert Nelson - 2009-11

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago