Vols Conclude Acclimation Period, Set For Initial Practice in Pade

Aug. 7, 2009


Tennessee wrapped up the NCAA-mandated, four-practice acclimation period of fall camp Friday with a three-hour workout at Haslam Field. Next up for the Vols is Saturday's first practice in full pads.

Even though the first week of workouts had a its physical moments, head coach Lane Kiffin says Saturday's live drills will be where players start to separate themselves.

"We're going to scrimmage; see who can tackle, see who can play off of cut blocks and play real football. We're going to go in the stadium for the atmosphere. That's where you play, so we're going to go in there for our scrimmages even though we don't have the crowd."

Saturday will bring a return to contact for three key Vols who missed all or part of spring drills. Eric Berry was held out of drills after offseason surgery, while Wes Brown and Jeff Cottam both were pulled from contact in the spring after injuries.

Practice is closed to the public. Two-a-days begin for the Vols during Week 2 of camp with morning and evening workouts on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

New Haven, Conn. -- Tennessee's Eric Berry was named Friday one of 30 "players to watch" by the Walter Camp Football Foundation for its prestigious Player of the Year award.

"We are proud to continue the great work of Walter Camp and recognize the best college football players in the nation," Foundation president Alphonse Paolillo, Jr. said. "This watch list is a great start to what is shaping up to be another exciting year of college football."

Berry, a junior from Fairburn, Ga., was one of six players on the 2009 watch list who were named to last year's Walter Camp All-America First Team. The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in early November. The 2009 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 119 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on the ESPN SportsCenter on Dec. 10. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Jan. 18, 2010, at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Jahvid Best, RB, Junior, California
Arrelious Benn, WR, Junior, Illinois
Eric Berry, DB, Junior, Tennessee*
Sam Bradford, QB, Junior, Oklahoma@
LaGarrette Blount, RB, Senior, Oregon
Dez Bryant, WR, Junior, Oklahoma State*
Daryll Clark, QB, Senior, Penn State
Jonathan Dwyer, RB, Junior, Georgia Tech
Mardy Gilyard, WR, Senior, Cincinnati
Jermaine Gresham, TE, Senior, Oklahoma@
Max Hall, QB, Senior, Brigham Young
Tim Hiller, QB, Senior, Western Michigan
Jerry Hughes, DE, Senior, TCU*
Kendell Hunter, RB, Junior, Oklahoma State
MiQuale Lewis, RB, Senior, Ball State
Taylor Mays, DB, Senior, USC*
Colt McCoy, QB, Senior, Texas*
Kellen Moore, QB, Sophomore, Boise State
Todd Reesing, QB, Senior, Kansas
Jacquizz Rodgers, RB, Sophomore, Oregon State
Evan Royster, RB, Senior, Penn State
George Selvie, DE, Senior, South Florida#@
Jordan Shipley, WR, Senior, Texas
Rusty Smith, QB, Senior, Florida Atlantic
Jevan Snead, QB, Junior, Mississippi
Brandon Spikes, LB, Senior, Florida*
C.J. Spiller, RB, Senior, Clemson
Golden Tate, WR, Junior, Notre Dame
Tim Tebow, QB, Senior, Florida#
Sean Weatherspoon, LB, Senior, Missouri@

*2008 Walter Camp First Team All-America; @2008 Walter Camp Second Team All-America; #2007 Walter Camp First Team All-America.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago