Vols Jersey Countdown #23

Aug. 8, 2012

Timber Tops
Tommy West
Tight End (1973-75)

A three-year letterwinner for the Vols, Tommy West helped lead Tennessee to a pair of bowl games and two final rankings among the top-20 in the nation. The Gainesville, Ga., product was named a co-captain of UT's 1975 sqaud and played in the Blue-Gray All-Star Game that same year.

West began his collegiate career as a running back, but saw most of his playing time as a tight end catching 37 passes for 575 yards. He earned second-team All-SEC honors as a senior after recording 16 receptions for 233 yards and three touchdowns. During his junior campaign, he caught an 81-yard pass from Condredge Holloway, still the longest non-scoring play in Tennessee football history.

West earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Tennessee in 1976 and was drafted by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers that same year. He also played two seasons of baseball for the Volunteers (1974-1975) and had a career batting average of .305. He hit .367 in 1975 and was named All-Southeastern Conference Eastern Division.

Currently the defensive coordinator at Southern Miss, West has served as the head football coach at three different schools: UTC (1993), Clemson (1993-98) and Memphis (2001-2009). He holds a career coaching record of 84-96, including three bowl victories.

Tom Jernigan
Defensive Back (1965-68)
"I wore number 23 for Tennessee from the fall of 1965 through the Cotton Bowl on Jan 1, 1969. It was the number assigned to me as a back in the Tennessee scheme. Almost all of my playing time was in the defensive backfield or as a roving linebacker (monster man). I did actually play a little quarterback in 1967 as we had injured quarterbacks."

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 23 with the Vols was.

Larry Tanner - 1938-39
Billy Bevis - 1942-45
Walter Slater - 1946
Don Hill - 1951
Ralph Adam - 1952
Kenneth Sadler - 1956-58
Wayne Coleman - 1959-62
Bobby Gratz - 1963-64
Tommy Jernigan - 1965-68
Merlyn Hood - 1970-71
Tommy West - 1973-75
Ken Sanderson - 1976-78
Daryl Harper - 1981-83
Wesley Pryor - 1984-86
Earnest Fields - 1988-91
Shawn Summers - 1993-95
James Braswell - 1996
Dwayne Goodrich - 1997-99
Corey Larkins - 2001-04
Ricardo Kemp - 2006-07
Prentiss Waggner - 2008-12

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago