Vols Jersey Countdown #19

Aug. 12, 2012

Timber Tops
Jeff Francis
Quarterback (1985-88)

A three-year starter at quarterback for the Vols from 1986-88, Jeff Francis threw for 5,867 career yards and 31 touchdowns to rank fifth on the UT all-time passing yardage chart. He finished his career in 1988 as the Vols' all-time career passing yardage leader.

Francis was named Most Valuable Player for his performance in the 1986 Liberty Bowl versus Minnesota and helped guide Tennessee to a 10-2-1 record and a victory over Indiana in the Peach Bowl as a junior. A four-year letterman, Francis was a backup quarterback on Tennessee's 1985 SEC championship team.

Devrin Young
Tailback (2011-12)
"I just took number 19 as an opportunity to put it on the map. When you see number 19 no one significantly stands out to you, so I just took it as an opportunity to make it known. Hopefully, I'm able to put good thoughts into people's minds when they see the number 19."
Johnny Watts
Defensive Back (1977-79)
"I was a walk on in 1975 and 1976. Coach Majors came to town for the 1977 season and I got my shot, mostly on special teams and limited action at defensive back. I was called into Coach Major's office before our Monday night practice for Vandy. I had a good game against Kentucky when our cornerback was injured late in the game, forcing a fumble that gave us a chance to win and Coach Majors told me he was putting me on scholarship and I was first team. When I first walked on in 1975 it was the first year the NCAA limited scholarships to 30 a year. We had 98 walk ons that year and 30 scholarships. To earn a ride for the next three years and play was the best. I lettered the next two years and we went to Houston for the Bluebonnet bowl. I wore number 19 proud. Really any number would have been great, but number 19 was MINE!"

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 19 with the Vols was.

Markey Luttrell - 1937
Robert Andridge - 1938-40
Bob Slater - 1941
Walter Slater - 1942
Jack Redding - 1944
R.A. Long - 1945-46
W.C. Cooper - 1947-50
Hal Hubbard - 1951-53
David Shields - 1960
Hubert McClain - 1960
Rob Petrella - 1963
Hal Wantland - 1964-65
Rusty Kidd - 1967
Sammy Hair - 1972-74
Hayes Gilliam - 1975-76
Jim Sheffer - 1977
Johnny Watts - 1977-79
Carlton Peoples - 1981-82
Jeff Francis - 1985-88
Kevin Wendelboe - 1989
Mose Phillips - 1991-94
Mark Levine - 1995-97
Shawn Seabrooks - 1999
Eric Campbell - 2000
Alex Walls - 1999-02
John Henderson - 2003-04
Jarod Parrish - 2004-07
Chris Donald - 2008-09
Nick Lamaison - 2009-10
Devrin Young - 2011-12

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago