Vols Jersey Countdown #17

Aug. 14, 2012

Timber Tops
Bobby Dodd
Quarterback (1928-30)

Bobby Dodd was front and center of the "Hack and Mack" backfield that featured Buddy Hackman and Gene McEver, but the quarterback did more than just take the snaps and hand off the ball.

Known for creating his own plays, Dodd helped the Volunteers to a 27-1-2 record during his years on The Hill and twice earned All-Southern team honors.

Dodd led Tennessee to back-to-back unbeaten seasons with identical 9-0-1 records his sophomore and junior years. During Dodd's era, the Vols went 33 games without a loss until an 18-6 setback against Alabama in 1930 -- the longest unbeaten streak in UT history. After the loss, Dodd and his teammates helped kick off a 28-game unbeaten streak that ranks as the second longest.

It was his senior year in which "The Dodger" showed his versatility in a 13-0 win against Vanderbilt. Dodd finished with 14 punts for a 42-yard average, had nine carries for 39 yards, was 7-of-12 passing for 159 yards and two touchdowns and intercepted two passes. On the afternoon, Dodd gained 212 all-purpose yards, collecting all but 14 of Tennessee's team total of 226. The Vols finished 9-1 and Dodd's dominance on the gridiron earned him 1930 All-America honors.

Dodd furthered his association with great college football teams as head coach at Georgia Tech from 1947-66. Dodd's teams went 165-64-6, appearing in 13 bowls and winning nine. From 1950-53, Dodd was unbeaten at 29-0-2. In his honor, Georgia Tech named its facility Bobby Dodd Stadium at Grant Field. He is one of only three members inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a player and a coach, joining Amos Alonzo Stagg and UT's Bowden Wyatt.

Tee Martin
Quarterback (1996-99)
"I wore number 17 in tribute to other quarterbacks who had worn that number like Joe Gilliam, Doug Williams and Charlie Ward. I am a huge Charlie Ward fan!"

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 17 with the Vols was.

Bobby Dodd - 1928-30
Sam Bartholomew - 1937-39
Chester Robertson - 1940
Don Bazemore - 1945
Hal Littleford - 1946-49
Joe Maiure - 1950-52
Charles Gookin - 1953
Buddy Scott - 1955
Bobby Sandlin - 1956-58
Pat Augustine - 1959-60
Frank Musgrave - 1961
Tim Fell - 1963
Dick DeHart - 1964-66
Phil Pierce - 1969-71
John Yarbrough - 1972-75
Dee Reviere - 1976
Steve Hatfield - 1977
Bobby King - 1979-80
Junior McBride - 1982
John McClennon - 1983
Greg Hargis - 1985-87
Lee Wood - 1989-90
Kevin Wendelboe - 1991
Quincy Prigmore - 1992-95
Tee Martin - 1997-99
John Rattay - 2000
C.J. Fayton - 2002-05
Nick Stephens - 2007-09
Tyler Page - 2011
Brent Brewer - 2011-12

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago