Vols Jersey Countdown #12

Aug. 19, 2012

Timber Tops
Marcus Nash
Wide Receiver (1995-97)

A four-year letterwinner for the Vols, Marcus Nash helped Tennessee become known as 'Wide Receiver U' during the mid-90s while playing alongside Joey Kent and Peerless Price.

The Tulsa, Okla., native finished his career as the second-leading receiver in UT history, catching 177 passes for 2,447 yards and 20 touchdowns.

As a senior in 1997, Nash earned first-team All-SEC honors after hauling 76 catches for 1,170 yards and 13 touchdowns. Both the receptions and touchdown totals represent Tennessee single-season records, as do the seven 100-yard games he posted while leading the Vols to the SEC title that year.

Following his collegiate career, Nash was one of three Vols drafted in the first round of the 1998 NFL Draft, going 30th overall to the Denver Broncos after Peyton Manning and Terry Fair had gone first and 20th, respectively.

Nash spent three years in the NFL before going on to a productive career in the Arena Football League with the Detroit Fury, Las Vegas Gladiators and Dallas Desperados. His best season as a professional came in 2004 when he was named the AFL Offensive Player of the Year after setting an AFL record with 154 receptions for 1,771 yards and 46 touchdowns.

Nathan Peterman
Quarterback (2012)
"It was one of the open numbers when I got here and I liked it by the look, but since I've gotten it I've found that Romans 12:12 and 1 Timothy 4:12 are two of my favorite verses, so it has been a cool coincidence."

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 12 with the Vols was.

John Boise - 1937
William Bryson - 1939-40
Bud Hubbell - 1941-42
Russell Morrow - 1944-45
Franklin Hubbell - 1946
Joe Martone - 1947-48
Bill Fulton - 1950-51
Terry Sweeny - 1953
Bill Bennett - 1955
Jim Grubb - 1956-57
Pete Wright - 1958
Coy Franklin - 1959
Charles Wyrick - 1960-61
Wayne Waff - 1962
Johnny Covington - 1964
Charles Futon - 1965-67
Herman Weaver - 1969
Chip Howard - 1971-73
Gary Rowe - 1974-76
Guy Hairston - 1978-79
Randall Morris - 1980-83
Randy Sanders - 1984-87
Chip McCallum - 1988
Corey Fleming - 1990-93
Marcus Nash - 1995-97
Troy McMaken - 1999
Teddy Grimes - 1999-01
C.J. Leak - 2002-04
Lucas Taylor - 2006-08
Ethan Ingram - 2009
Nyshier Oliver - 2010
Chris Eggert - 2010
Matt Simms - 2011
Nathan Peterman - 2012

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago