Vols Jersey Countdown #11

Aug. 20, 2012

Timber Tops
Joey Kent
Wide Receiver (1993-96)

Tennessee's all-time leading receiver, Joey Kent was instrumental in helping establish the nickname 'Wide Receiver U' for the Vols.

In his four seasons at Rocky Top, Kent caught more passes (183) for more yards (2,814) and more touchdowns (25) than any other player in school history.

He also had 15 100-yard receiving games, four more than any other Vol, including a record seven-straight during the 1996 campaign.

Kent is one of just five Vols to lead the team in receiving yards for three straight seasons, joining Larry Sievers, Anthony Hancock, Thomas Woods and Gerald Jones.

A second-round pick by the Tennessee oilers in the 1997 NFL Draft, Kent spent four seasons in the league with the Oilers/Titans, Indianapolis Colts and St. Louis Rams.

Joey Kent
Wide Receiver (1993-96)
"My father wore number 11 as a quarterback for Alabama A&M University in the late 1950s. I started wearing the number at an early age, through high school and was fortunate it was available my freshman year at Tennessee. Number 11 is special to me because I wore it to honor the man who introduced and taught me the game of football and was always supportive. He passed away nine years ago, but I am glad that I had the opportunity to wear that number especially at Tennessee because of what he meant to me. Hopefully I made him proud by wearing number 11."
Justin Hunter
Wide Receiver (2010-Present)
"I was No. 1 in high school, but Michael Palardy has my number, so I took No. 11, which is my next favorite number. Also, Percy Harvin of the Minnesota Vikings, who is also from Virginia Beach, wore No. 11 in high school."

Tweet @Vol_Football to let us know who your favorite player to wear No. 11 with the Vols was.

Leonard Coffman - 1937-39
Jim Gaffney - 1941-42
Billy Stevens - 1944-45
Monk Fowler - 1946-47
Bernie Sizemore - 1949-50
Bill Blackstock - 1951,54
Ed Godzak - 1954
Charles Trimble - 1955
Ralph Broyles - 1956-58
John Paty - 1962-63
Ron Widby - 1964-66
Mike Jones - 1967
Joe Thompson - 1968
Dennis Chadwick - 1969-70
Nick Carmichael - 1971-73
Mike Huskisson - 1974
Jeff Moore - 1976-77
Bobby Stanton - 1979
Dirk Wiers - 1980
Daryl Dickey - 1981-85
Kyle Horner - 1987
Lloyd Kerr - 1990-91
Joey Kent - 1993-96
Robert Loudermilk - 1998
Bobby Graham - 1998-01
James Banks - 2003-04
Jon Catanzano - 2005
Slick Shelley - 2006-07
Todd Campbell - 2008
Brice Brown - 2009
Justin Hunter - 2010-12

For the most up-to-date information about Tennessee football, visit UTSports.com/football or follow us on Twitter @Vol_Football.

Tennessee will open the 2012 campaign at the Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game against North Carolina State at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 31. To purchase tickets, visit UTTix.com or call the Tennessee ticket office at 1-800-332-VOLS.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago