Palardy Named Ray Guy Award Nominee

Oct. 25, 2013


AUGUSTA, Ga. - As announced by the Augusta Sports Council Friday, senior punter/kicker Michael Palardy has been named to the 2013 Ray Guy Award watch list, which identifies the nation's top collegiate punter.

This season, Palardy has handled all three duties on special teams for the Vols, taking part in 100 percent of the punts, kicks and kickoffs for Tennessee in 2013.

The senior is one of just seven athletes in the Football Bowl Subdivision that is handling all three duties on special teams and is the lone lefty in the group.

Palardy has booted 35 punts this season for a 44.5 yard average, 14th in the country and third in the SEC. Sixteen of his punts have landed inside the 20-yard line and nine of them have been for 50+ yards. He ranks in the top-5 on the UT career punting average charts with a 42.46 average.

Palardy is also a perfect 27-for-27 on extra points in 2013 and against Georgia knocked his 100th career extra point through the uprights. With his 8-of-10 field goal kicking this season, Palardy has moved in to fifth place on the UT all-time field goal percentage list (31-43, .721).

The list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists to be announced on November 8. Following the semi-finalists announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the top three finalists, who will be identified on November 25. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner.

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, December 12 at 7:30 pm ET on ESPN.

The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard will feature live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award, The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award, and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hal of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team's success.

The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. to learn more about our story.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago