April 20, 2007

The No. 15 Tennessee men's golf team fired a 20-over-par 300 to find itself in third place after the first round at the 2007 SEC Championships played Friday at Sea Island Golf Club in Sea Island, Ga.

The par-70, 6,898-yard course proved challenging as cold and windy conditions drove the scores up. None of the 12 teams turned in a round under par.

Senior Tino Weiss paced the Vols finishing the day in 7th place. Weiss posted the best round on the day for UT, a 4-over-par 74.

Juniors Charlie Ford and Philip Pettitt both carded 5-over-par 75 in the first round to finish tied for 15th. The pair combined for three birdies on the day.

Chris Paisley finished with a 6-over-par 76 and sits in 23rd place. He fired one birdie on the front nine before finishing strong, paring eight of his final nine holes.

Knoxville native David Holmes rounded out the lineup for the Volunteers with an 11-over-par 81. The freshman, who is competing in only his second tournament of the season, finished the day tied for 52nd.

Mississippi's Will Roebuck fired a first round 1-under-par 69 to take a three stroke lead in the individual standings. Roebuck was the only individual under par in the first round. Auburn's Patton Kizzire is in second after a 2-over-par 72. There are four player tied for third.

Mississippi opened a five-stroke lead on the field with a team score of 15-over-par 295. Alabama fired a 298 and sits in second place. Tennessee is in third with LSU and Vanderbilt rounding out the top five.

The second round is scheduled to begin Saturday at 8 a.m. Eastern time. Live results can be round at www.golfstat.com .

1. Mississippi 295
2. Alabama 298
3. Tennessee 300
4. LSU 301
5. Vanderbilt 302
6t. Florida 304
6t. South Carolina 304
6t. Auburn 304
6t. Mississippi State 304
10. Georgia 308
11. Kentucky 312
12. Arkansas 316
1. Will Roebuck, Mississippi 69
2. Patton Kizzire, Auburn 72
3t. Andrew Landry, Arkansas 73
3t. Luke List, Vanderbilt 73
3t. Gator Todd, Alabama 73
3t. Chris Wells, LSU 73
t-7 Tino Weiss 74
t-15 Charlie Ford 75
t-15 Philip Pettitt 75
t-23 Chris Paisley 76
t-52 David Holmes 81





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago