UT's Wingardh, Keddie Earn SEC Honors

April 25, 2011

Robin Wingardh and Danny Keddie were Tennessee's representatives on the 2011 Southeastern Conference Men's Golf Awards, announced Monday by the league office.

Wingardh was named to the All-SEC second team for a third straight year, while Keddie earned Freshman All-SEC honors in quick fashion after joining the squad this past January.

Wingardh owns five top-10 finishes in his 10 tournaments played this season, and leads the team with a 71.87 stroke average. Exactly half of his 30 rounds have resulted in a score of par or better, including a season-low 68 on four occasions. His best finish was second at the Isleworth Collegiate Invitational in October, but the last five tournaments have seen the Wingardh place sixth, seventh, 20th, eighth and then third at the recent SEC Championship.

UT's senior captain also was named to the All-SEC second team in 2009 and 2010.

Keddie made an immediate impact for the Vols with a 10th-place showing in his very first collegiate tournament, the Battle at the Beach in February. After a few tournaments of adjustment to the college game, Keddie regained his form and capped his first regular season with a pair of sixth-place showings at the Insperity Augusta State Invitational and SEC Championship. Keddie is third on the team with a 74.22 stroke average and has scored par or better in six of his 18 rounds. His season low score was 66 in the opening round of at the Augusta event.

The SEC's 12 head coaches vote for honors in conjunction with the league's recent championship weekend.

Florida's Bank Vongvanij was voted SEC Golfer of the Year and one of two Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year, while Gators head coach Buddy Alexander was tabbed SEC Coach of the Year. Alabama's Cory Whitsett earned SEC Freshman of the Year and Vanderbilt's Ryan Haselden joined Vongvanij as Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

NCAA regional selections are May 9, with regional competition set for May 19-21. This year's NCAA Men's Golf Championship takes place May 31-June 5 at Karsten Creek Golf Course in Stillwater, Okla.



Buddy Alexander, Florida

Bank Vongvanij, Florida

Bank Vongvanij, Florida
Ryan Haselden, Vanderbilt

Cory Whitsett, Alabama

First-team All-SEC

Blayne Barber, Auburn
Bud Cauley, Alabama
Phillip Choi, Florida
Andres Echavarria, Florida
Andrew Loupe, LSU
John Peterson, LSU
Bank Vongvanij, Florida
Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Second Team All-SEC
Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
Harris English, Georgia
Michael Hebert, Auburn
Russell Henley, Georgia
Jonathan Randolph, Ole Miss
Ethan Tracy, Arkansas
Robin Wingardh, TENNESSEE
Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Freshman All-SEC Team
Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
Niclas Carlsson, Auburn
Danny Keddie, TENNESSEE
Cory Whitsett, Alabama
Bobby Wyatt, Alabama



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago