Vol Golf Makes NCAA Regional
Vols Draw No. 7 Seed

May 6, 2013

NCAA Tournament Field - http://bit.ly/12cv13d

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - The Tennessee men's golf team will head to Baton Rouge, La., for the 2013 NCAA Regional from May 16-18, the NCAA announced on Monday night.

The top five teams at each regional site will advance to the NCAA Championships conducted May 28-June 2, at The Capital City Club, Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Ga.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 16-18. There will be 13 teams and 10 individuals not on those teams competing at each of three regionals, while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

Monday night's selection marked Tennessee's 14th consecutive NCAA bid in 15 seasons under head coach Jim Kelson, extending the school record.

This year's field for the Baton Rouge Regional:
1. Alabama (SEC Champion)
2. Florida
3. LSU
4. Mississippi State
5. Houston (C-USA Champion)
6. Northwestern
8. South Alabama
9. Coastal Carolina (Big South Champion)
10. UAB
11. Wichita State (Missouri Valley Champion)
12. Southeastern Louisiana (Southland Champion)
13. Houston Baptist

"I am really proud of this team," said Kelson. "We have some work to do, but we are excited and up for the challenge."

In addition to the 14 consecutive regional bids, UT has advanced to the NCAA finals six times under Kelson -- 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010 and 2011.

Tennessee captured the No. 7 seed in the region based off a regular season that saw it collect six top-5 tournament finishes, including two victories in ten competitions.

The Baton Rouge region, hosted by LSU at the University Club of Baton Rouge, is packed with SEC teams. In this year's field are top-seeded Alabama, Florida, LSU, Mississippi State and the Volunteers. In addition, Georgia, Texas A&M, and Vanderbilt are in Tempe, Ariz., Arkansas and Kentucky in Fayetteville, Ark., and Auburn, South Carolina, and Missouri in Columbus, Ohio. That is 13 of the 14 SEC schools in the NCAA Tournament.



A total of 81 teams and 45 individuals were selected as part of the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago