Scalise, 3 VFLs Off To Strong Start In Sicily
May 18, 2017



AGRIGENTO, Sicily -- Rising Tennessee senior Lorenzo Scalise and former UT men's golfers Chris Paisley, Ross McGowan and Garrick Porteous all carded opening rounds of par of better on Thursday at The Rocco Forte Open at Verdura Golf Club.

Paisley was a 2009 PING All-America Honorable Mention and starred at UT from the 2005-06 season through the 2008-09 season. He is tied for 18th after shooting a 5-under 66 in Thursday's first round. The Englishman posted birdies on the first, fourth, ninth, 10th, 13th and 16th holes. Paisley will begin Friday's second round at 1:55 p.m. GMT/9:55 a.m. ET from the first tee.

McGowan was a 2005 PING All-American and played for the Vols from the 2001-02 season through 2004-05. The Englishman is tied for 50th after carding a 3-under 68 with birdies on the second, ninth, 13th, 16th and 17th holes. He tees off the second round from the 11th at 9:20 a.m. GMT/5:20 a.m. ET.

Porteous was a 2012 All-SEC selection and played for UT from 2008-09 through 2011-12. The Englishman is also tied for 50th at 3-under 68. He carded birdies on the first, second, third, sixth, eighth and 12th holes. Porteous opens the second round from the first tee at 8:55 a.m. GMT/4:55 a.m. ET.

Scalise, who is competing as an amateur, is tied for 115th after shooting even-par 71. The Italian had birdies on the sixth, eighth and 14th. He will tee off from the 11th on Friday at 9:30 a.m. GMT/5:30 a.m. ET.


 

 

 

HAPPENING NOW

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago