Goss Named Golfweek All-American
Goss Named Golfweek All-American

June 17, 2013

Oliver Goss has been chosen as a Golfweek Third Team All-American.

"Each award I get is very prestigious and special to me," Goss said. "I knew All-American was a goal of mine coming into this season. Coach was saying he had never heard of it being done before, a player starting their season in December and winning the award. But it was a goal of mine and now I've done it."

Goss joins eight other Southeastern Conference golfers on the list. Golfweek's All-America teams are determined by players' order in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings.

The freshman now has racked up four post-season honors, including All-SEC First Team, All-SEC Freshman Team, and PING All-Region Team. The native of Perth, Australia recently attempted to qualify for the U.S. Open, missing out by six strokes.

Goss is the first Tennessee All-American since Robin Wingardh was named a 2011 Honorable Mention.

Complete list of Golfweek All-Americans:

First team
• Michael Kim, California
• Brandon Stone, Texas
• Bobby Wyatt, Alabama
• Cory Whitsett, Alabama
• Julien Brun, TCU
• Justin Thomas, Alabama
• Daniel Berger, Florida State
• Sean Dale, North Florida
• Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
• Chris Williams, Washington

Second team
• Michael Weaver, California
• Joel Stalter, California
• Max Homa, California
• Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington
• Pontus Widegren, UCLA
• James Erkenbeck, New Mexico
• Greg Eason, Central Florida
• Scott Fernandez, Iowa State
• Brandon Hagy, California
• Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA

Third team
Oliver Goss, TENNESSEE
• Brinson Paolini, Duke
• Cody Gribble, Texas
• Cameron Wilson, Stanford
• Albin Choi, N.C. State
• Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas
• Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech
• M.J. Maguire, North Florida
• Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
• Tyler McCumber, Florida



Honorable mention
• Corey Conners, Kent State
• Chase Seiffert, Florida State
• Ian Davis, Oklahoma State
• Gavin Green, New Mexico
• Evan Beck, Wake Forest
• Jonathan Garrick, UCLA
• Jon Rahm, Arizona State
• Thomas Pieters, Illinois
• Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas
• Trey Mullinax, Alabama
• Kevin Phelan, North Florida
• Kevin Penner, UNLV
• Jordan Niebrugge, Oklahoma State
• Yi Keun Chang, USC
• Talor Gooch, Oklahoma State
• Taylor Pendrith, Kent State
• Sam Smith, USC
• T.J. Vogel, Florida
• Curtis Thompson, LSU
• Kramer Hickok, Texas


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago