Goss, Porteous Make Global All-Amateur Team
Goss taking a bite of his U.S. Amateur medal

Dec. 4, 2013

On Tuesday, the Global Golf Post announced the first-ever Global All-Amateur Teams.

The Global Golf Post, a digital-only golf news publication, has named Global All-Amateur Teams, recognizing on-course amateur golf excellence around the world. A total of 178 players from around the world were recognized at the amateur, mid-amateur, and senior amateur levels.

As a part of the multi-page feature in the December issue, the publication named Oliver Goss and Garrick Porteous to the list of First Team All-Amateur.

The All-Amateur Team is presented by Polo Ralph Lauren.

Link to publication: Global Golf Post

Porteous, a 2012 Tennessee graduate, is a native of Morpeth, England. While at the University of Tennessee, Porteous was a member of the 2012 All-SEC second team. Recently, Porteous has been making major strides as an amateur golfer, competing in such events as the 44th Walker Cup and the 142nd British Open.

Recent Highlights:

  • Great Britain and Ireland Walker Cup team member
  • Won the British Amateur Championship
  • Won the Scottish Stroke Play Championship

Goss, a sophomore at Tennessee, is a native of Perth, Australia. During his freshman season at Tennessee, Goss racked up All-SEC first team and All-SEC freshman team selections in addition to PING and Golfweek All-American honors. He has two top ten finishes at the conclusion of the 2013 fall season.

Recent Highlights:

  • Runner-up at the U.S. Amateur
  • Won the Western Australian Open
  • Won the Western Australian Amateur

Both men hope to leave their mark on the golfing world when they compete in the 78th edition of the Masters Tournament.

The inaugural Global Golf Post All-Amateur Team:



Sebastian Cappelen, Denmark - Won 2012 Patriot All American
Matthew Fitzpatrick, England - Won U.S. Amateur
Oliver Goss, Australia - Runner-up at U.S. Amateur
Michael Kim, USA - U.S. Walker Cup team member
Jordan Niebrugge, USA - U.S. Walker Cup team member
Max Orrin, England - GB and Ireland Walker Cup team member
Garrick Porteous, England - Won British Amateur Championship
Patrick Rodgers, USA - U.S. Walker Cup team member
Brady Watt, Australia - Won Ten Nations Cup
Cory Whitsett, USA - U.S. Walker Cup team member



  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago