Trembley Named SEC Coach of the Year

Feb. 19, 2011

Photo Gallery 

As the 2011 SEC Swimming and Diving Championships concluded on Saturday in Gainesville, Fla., senior Brad Craig defended his 200 breast title and head coach John Trembley was named the male swimming coach of the year as the Vols finished third.

"The best honors are those given by your peers," Trembley said. "I am truly blessed to be able to coach at my alma mater, a place I love very much, and I am honored to receive this award. This coach of the year award is sharedby Coach Hendee, Coach Jorgensen, Coach Parrington and Coach Rumbaugh."

According to Big Orange tradition, only those squads that truly demonstrate the team-before-self attitude earn the coon skin cap. This is the first team in four years to do so.

"Our team put in a lot of hard work this season and I'm proud of them," Trembley said. "We endured some ups and downs. But this group came together in a special way and that is why they are only the seventh team during my tenure at Tennessee to earn the coon skin cap, one of our most sacred traditions."

Craig repeated as the SEC 200 breaststroke champion. The Midland, Mich., native swam a time of one minute 54.24-second A-cut mark. Junior Jake Epperson made the podium in third place with a time of one minute 55.38 seconds, an NCAA B-cut time. Mattias Kahlin won the consolation final in ninth place with a B-cut mark of one minute 56.74 seconds. Derek Paul also made the consolation final, finishing 15th in two minutes 2.73 seconds.

In the 200 back, All-America Ricky Henahan came in fourth with a time of one minute 43.39 seconds. Freshman Samuel Rairden finished fifth in one minute 43.51 seconds. Junior Anders Storvik placed eighth in one minute 45.72 seconds. All three marks are NCAA B-cuts.

Senior Michael DeRocco finished fifth with a B-cut in the 100 butterfly in 43.02 seconds. Ryan Harrison continued his strong SEC performance with a win in the consolation final. His ninth place time of 43.36 is an NCAA B-cut.

Norbert Kovacs, the lone Vol in the 200 fly, finished 14th with a B-cut time of one minute 46.45 seconds.

In the mile free, Geoff Sanders led UT in seventh with a B-cut mark of 15 minutes 10.33 seconds. Sam Petersen scored in 11th in 15 minutes 21. 92 seconds, also a B-cut.

At the conclusion of the meet, Tennessee placed third behind Auburn and Florida. The Vols now return to The Hill to prepare for the NCAAs.

"So many of our guys had gutsy performances, competed with heart and made me proud to wear the orange and white," Trembley said. "We had some very bright moments at this meet, but we are not pleased with third in the SEC. This meet was a good transition into the championship season for us. Now it's time to get home and turn our focus to NCAAs. "


200 back: 1. Marco Loughran (UF)1:40.11 A; 2. Kyle Owens (AU) 1:40.36 A; 3. Max Murphy (AU)1:42.89 B; 4. Ricky Henahan (UT) 1:43.39 B; 5. Samuel Rairden (UT) 1:43.51 B; 6. Kohlton Norys (AU) 1:44.16 B; 7. Chris Kelly (USC) 1:45.38 B; 8. Anders Storvik (UT) 1:45.72 B

100 free: 1. Adam Brown (AU) 41.92; 2. Brett Fraser (UT) 42.45 B; 3. Karl Krug (AU) 42.78 B; 4. Marcelo Chierig (AU) 42.82 B; 5. Michael DeRocco (UT) 43.02 B; 6. Bradley deBorde (UF) 43.26 B; 7. Drew Modrov (AU) 43.34 B; 8. BJ Hornikel (UA) 43.68 B; 9. Ryan Harrison (UT) 43.36 B

200 breast: 1. Brad Craig (UT) 1:54.24 A; 2. Bill Cregar (UGA) 1:54.56 B; 3. Jake Epperson (UT) 1:55.38 B; T-4. Stuart Ferguson (AU)1:57.32; T-4. George Klein (AU) 1:57.32 B; 6. Robert Kennedy (UF) 1:57.80 B; 7. Eric Solis (UF) 1:58.76 B; 8. Michael Joyce (UF) 1:59.94 B; 9. Mattias Kahlin (UT) 1:56.74 B; 15. Derek Paul (UT) 2:02.73

400 free relay: 1. Auburn (Adam Brown, Karl Krug, Drew Modrov, Kohlton Norys) 2:49.95 A; 2. Florida (Bradley deBorde, Brett Fraser, Sebastien Rousseau, Scott Sommer) 2:51.93 A; 3. Alabama (Vlad Caciuc, BJ Hornikel, Alex Coci, Joe Ziegler) 2:53.47 B; 4. Georgia (Michael Arnold, Kevin Frakenfeld, Matt Bartlett, Martin Kata) 2:54.46 B; 5. Tennessee (Oystein Hetland, Anders Storvik, Michael Christy, Anders Storvik) 2:57.33 B; 6. Kentucky (Chip Aplin, David Sanders, Steve Wimmer, Colin Faris) 2:57.74 B; 7. South Carolina (Michael Flach, Gerard Rodriguez, Andrew Seiler, Alex Fitton) 2:58.02 B; 8. LSU (Andrei Tuomola, Hannes Heyl, Michael Saco, Clint Hallum) 2:58.65 B

1. Auburn 799; 2. Florida 782; 3. Tennessee 602.5; 4. Georgia 496; 5. LSU 271.5; 6. Alabama 271; 7. South Carolina 217; 8. Kentucky 199





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago