Three Vols Make Platform Finals at Zone B Diving Championships

March 15, 2009

The last day of the Zone B Diving Championships featured the platform diving events. For the third straight day, UT placed at least three divers in the final round.

Junior Michael Muscari led the Big Orange placing sixth (624.25) and will be a second alternate for the NCAA championships. Junior Michael Wright finished eighth (600.50) and freshman Brent Sterling placed 14th 506.10.

Freshman Ryan Helms placed 19th (234.20) in the preliminary round and did not qualify for the finals.

As a result of duplicate winners in the three events this weekend, Sterling will qualify for the NCAA championships in the one-meter. Helms became the first NCAA qualifier Saturday in the three-meter event.

Official results can be found on

2009 NCAA Zone B Diving Championships
NCAA Championships Men's Qualifiers
1. P Aaron Felshner Alabama
2. 1m Reuben Ross Miami
3. 3m Kelly Marx Auburn
4. 1m Terry Horner Florida State
5. P Daniel Frebel Florida State
6. 3m Ryan Helms Tennessee
7. 3m Mike McDonald Virginia Tech
8. P Daniel Mazzafero Auburn
9. 1m Niko Dalman LSU
10. 1m Brent Sterling Tennessee
11. P David Solarz UNC
Alternate: Austin Hampton, NC State
** Qualified divers will be eligible to compete in all events they competed in at the Zone B Championships





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago