Three Tennis Vols Garner All-SEC Honors

April 30, 2009

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- John-Patrick Smith, Matteo Fago and Boris Conkic were named All-Southeastern Conference as the 2009 men's tennis first and second team All-SEC, All-Freshman team, and the yearly awards were announced by the conference office.

Smith earns his second first team honor after making the squad as a freshman last year, in addition to being named Freshman of the Year. He is the first Volunteer to earn the first team award in back-to-back seasons since associate head coach Chris Woodruff accomplished the feat in 1992 and 1993. Peter Handoyo was the last Vol to be named first team twice in a career, doing it in 1999 and 2002.

The fifth-ranked player nationally, Smith played at the No. 1 spot in the lineup compiling a 31-10 mark. He was chosen yesterday as one of 64 individuals to compete in the NCAA singles tournament in College Station, Texas, May 20-25.

Fago picked up his first All-SEC selection as he also made the first team. Playing primarily at the No. 3 spot in the lineup, Fago fashioned a 19-10 overall mark, including a spectacular 17-3 mark in dual match play this season.

Conkic, ranked 37th nationally, makes his second consecutive apperance on the second team after going 27-8 at the No. 2 position. He was also chosen to play in the NCAA singles tournament.

Ole Miss head coach Billy Chadwick was named SEC Coach of the Year, LSU's Michael Venus garnered SEC Player of the Year honors, Floridaís Carlos Cueto was named SEC Freshman of the Year, while Arkansasí Blake Strode was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The Vols open NCAA team tournament action Friday, May 8 at 1 p.m. ET against East Tennessee State. The winner of that match plays the winner of Radford-Duke May 9 at 3 p.m.

A complete list of the awards follows.

Coach of the Year: Billy Chadwick, Ole Miss
Player of the Year: Michael Venus, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Carlos Cueto, Florida
Scholar Ahtlete of the Year: Blake Strode, Arkansas

All-SEC First Team
Saketh Myneni, Alabama
Blake Strode, Arkansas
Carlos Cueto, Florida
Alex Lacroix, Florida
Jamie Hunt, Georgia
Nate Schnugg, Georgia
Bruno Agostinelli, Kentucky
Michael Venus, LSU
Jonas Berg, Ole Miss
Kalle Norberg, Ole Miss
Bram ten berge, Ole Miss
Matteo Fago, Tennessee
John-Patrick Smith, Tennessee

All-SEC Second Team
Mathieu Thibaudeau, Alabama
Alexey Tsyrenov, Auburn
Tim Puetz, Auburn
Antoine Benneteau, Florida
Javier Garrapiz, Georgia
Josh Varela, Georgia
Eric Quigley, Kentucky
Neal Skupski, LSU
Devin Britton, Ole Miss
Otto Sauer, Ole Miss
Ryan Farlow, Mississippi State
Diego Cubas, South Carolina
Boris Conkic, Tennessee

All-Freshman Team
Alex Stamchev, Auburn
Carlos Cueto, Florida
Eric Quigley, Kentucky
Neal Skupski, LSU
Devin Britton, Ole Miss
Artem Ilyushin, Mississippi State





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago