Libietis, Reese Named Doubles Team of Year

June 18, 2014

SKILLMAN, N.J. -- Rising seniors Mikelis Libietis and Hunter Reese were named the ITA Doubles Team of the Year, the collegiate tennis governing body announced Wednesday.

The ITA Doubles Team of the Year is an honor typically given to the team that ends the season ranked No. 1. Libietis and Reese started and ended the 2013-14 school year at the top of the national rankings and were ranked first or second all season.

Libietis and Reese backed up that No. 1 ranking in a big way as juniors.

They won the NCAA Doubles Championships in addition to the ITA All-American Championships, one of college tennis' fall majors. They finished their third season together with a 36-5 record with 10 wins against top-25 opponents.

Three Tennessee pairs have been named the ITA Doubles Team of the Year in Sam Winterbotham's eight years as head coach. Two-time NCAA doubles finalists John-Patrick Smith and Davey Sandgren earned the honors in 2009. Smith collected the honor again in 2011 when he teamed up with fellow senior Boris Conkic.

The victories are starting to add up for Libietis and Reese. They head into their seniors years with a 73-20 record together, which ranks fourth on UT's all-time career list. They are seven wins shy of moving into No. 2 on the list. Three-time All-Americans Shelby Cannon and Byron Talbot (1985-88) played together a majority of their careers and hold the record with 102.





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago