UT Athletics Holds 4th Annual VOLSCARS

April 12, 2010

The University of Tennessee Athletic Department held the 4th annual VOLSCARS on Monday, April 12 at Thompson-Boling Arena. The event, which was put on by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), was hosted by former Vol football players Terry Fair and Fred White.

The Volscars is a way to showcase and celebrate the accomplishments of both the men's and women's athletic departments. Tennessee student-athletes began the evening on the "orange" carpet with media interviews in true Hollywood style, followed by dinner and the presentation of awards.

*Winners in bold
Best Supporting Role:
Given to the male and female student-athlete who serves as the "unsung hero." This team member is a high impact player that does not always get all of the credit, but that the team cannot do without.
Boris Conkic Men's Tennis
Mattias Kahlin Swimming and Diving
Zach Osborne Baseball
Chris Paisley Golf
Kyle Stevenson Track and Field
Kylie Marshall Volleyball
Aleksa Akerfelds Swimming and Diving
Jackie Areson Track and Field
Diana Cantu Golf
Maria Sorbello Tennis
Best Supporting Staff Member:
Awarded to the staff member who has helped, through constant support, make it possible for the head coach to do their job.
Joe Harrington Sports Technology Coordinator
Joe Hendee Men's Swimming Assistant Coach
Kari Kebach Volleyball Athletic Trainer
Chad Newman Men's Basketball Athletic Trainer
Fernandez West Women's Golf Academic Counselor
Rookie of the Year:
Given to the first-year student-athlete in both men's and women's athletics who made a direct impact through hard work and dedication and played a significant role on the team.
Cody Hawn Baseball
Joseph Franklin Cross Country/Track and Field
Ryan Harrison Swimming and Diving
Darren Renwick Golf
Rhyne Williams Tennis
Kelsey Floyd Women's Swimming and Diving
Raven Chavanne Softball
Kelsey Floyd Swimming and Diving
Nathalie Mansson Golf
Natalie Pluskota Tennis
Chanelle Price Track and Field
Best Comeback:
Awarded to the team that overcame extreme hardships during a game and ultimately triumphing
Volleyball came from behind in fifth game to win last six points against Kentucky
Men's basketball successful season after adverse situation in January
Rocky Top Moment: awarded to the player or team that had the most exciting moment in competition.
Men's basketball beats No. 1 ranked Kansas on home court with six scholarship players
Shekinna Strickland had a triple-double game vs. Oklahoma
Lady Vol golf wins Mercedez-Benz Collegiate Championship by record 19 strokes
Men's basketball wins over Ohio State to advance to first ever Elite 8
Volleyball vs. Kentucky comes back in fifth game
Wes Brown returns an interception for a touchdown on senior night
Sarah Bowman at Penn Relays
Natalie Pluskota and Caitlin Whorisky win the National All-American doubles tournament
Big Orange Heart Award:
Given to the male and female student-athlete that is the definition of a true Volunteer and is full of spirit, optimism and encouragement.
Matt Ramsey Baseball
Patrick Beasley Swimming and Diving
Ben Fain Cheer
Chris Kane Track and Field
Emmanuel Negedu Basketball
Darren Renwick Golf
Nick Reveiz Football
Davey Sandgren Tennis
Sarah Kitchin Soccer
Ashley Andrews Softball
Ginny Brown Golf
Amanda Friday Volleyball
Sierra Gordon Dance
Amber Gray Basketball
Jennifer Meredith Tennis
Laura Miller Rowing
Phoebe Wright Track and Field
Volunteer Award:
Presented to the female student-athlete who showed commitment to service, volunteerism and leadership.
Nick Reveiz Football
Matt Brewer Tennis
Chris Kane Track and Field
Bobby Maze Basketball
Chris Winchell Swimming and Diving
Holly Kane Track and Field
Bryttany Curran Swimming and Diving
Glory Johnson Basketball
Zsofia Zubar Tennis
Lauren Spurlock Golf
Community Outreach Team Award:
Awarded to the team most involved with community service
Men's Basketball team
Women's Basketball team
Inspirational Award:
Given to honor the student-athlete who has persevered through extreme personal obstacles.
Amber Gray Women's Basketball
Emmanuel Negedu Men's Basketball
Sean Letsinger Men's Swimming and Diving
Scholar-Athlete Award:
Awarded to the student-athlete with the highest GPA.
Mattias Kahlin Men's Swimming and Diving
Helen B. Watson Female Scholar
Phoebe Wright Women's Track and Field
Mr. Tennessee:
Given to the student-athlete who exemplifies the spirit of Tennessee and is awarded based on academics, athletics, team leadership and service
Nick Reveiz Football
Blake Forsythe Baseball
John Hewitt Track and Field
David Holmes Golf
John-Patrick Smith Smith
Miss Tennessee:
Given to the student-athlete who exemplifies the spirit of Tennessee and is awarded based on academics, athletics, team leadership and service.
Angie Bjorklund Women's Basketball
Molly Baird Soccer
Nikki Fowler Volleyball
Tiffany Huff Softball
Laura Miller Rowing
Team of the Year:
Awarded to the team with the best year-end finish.
Lady Vol
Track & Field
Swimming and Diving
Coach of the Year:
Awarded to the coach with the best year-end results
Bruce Pearl Basketball
Sam Winterbotham Tennis
Lady Vol
J.J. Clark Track & Field
Matt Kredich Swimming and Diving
Pat Summitt Basketball
Rob Patrick Volleyball
VOLSCARS Athlete of the Year
Awarded to the student-athlete that made the most valuable contribution to the team during the timeline of April 1, 2009 through March 28, 2010.

John-Patrick Smith Men's Tennis
Eric Berry Football
Wayne Chism Basketball
Cody Hawn Baseball
Evander Wells Track and Field
Phoebe Wright Women's Track & Field
Chloe Goldman Volleyball
Michele King Swimming and Diving
Nathalie Mansson Golf
Caitlin Whorisky Women's Tennis





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago