Simmons Added To "Wade Watch" List
Meighan Simmons ranks second in all games (17.2) and first in league games (19.2) among SEC players this season in points per game average.

Feb. 4, 2013

ATLANTA -- The State Farm® Wade Trophy Committee has added eight additional student-athletes to the 2012-13 State Farm "Wade Watch" list, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), on behalf of the Wade Trophy Coalition, announced Monday. Tennessee's Meighan Simmons is among those on that amended list.

Joining the preseason list of 25 "Wade Watch" hopefuls are the Lady Vol junior guard, Kelsey Bone of Texas A&M, Gennifer Brandon and Layshia Clarendon of Cal Berkeley, Kelly Faris of Connecticut, Tianna Hawkins of Maryland, Chelsea Hopkins of San Diego State and Niveen Rasheed of Princeton.

State Farm and the Wade Trophy Coalition present The State Farm Wade Trophy to the nation's most outstanding NCAA® Division I women's basketball player each year - one who not only excels athletically but also serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The acclaimed Wade Watch list, from which The State Farm Wade Trophy recipient is chosen, consists of players selected on the basis of game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

The State Farm Wade Watch list will be trimmed to 12 finalists in mid-March. State Farm and the Wade Trophy Coalition will officially announce the State Farm Wade Trophy winner during the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in New Orleans.

Simmons, who hails from Byron P. Steele High School in Cibolo, Texas, leads Tennessee and ranks second in the SEC in scoring this season at 17.2 points per game. Simmons, who has scored in double figures 19 times in 22 games, including seven efforts of 20 points or more, has led the No. 9/10 Lady Vols to a 17-5 overall record and 8-1 mark in the SEC, tying the squad for first place thus far.

The UT standout is scoring at an SEC-leading 19.2 points per contest in league play and ranks third in three-point field goal percentage (43.5), fourth in free throw percentage (82.1) and ninth in field goal percentage (45.1) in nine conference games. She also is ninth in minutes played at 33.6.

Earlier this season, Simmons became the 37th Lady Vol to cross the 1,000-point plateau. She now has 1,277 points through 22 games in 2012-13 and ranks 27th on UT's all-time scoring list. Her per game average currently ranks as the sixth-best ever registered by a Lady Vol junior.

Here is the complete 2012-13 State Farm Wade Watch list:

Name, Institution, Position, Year
Alex Bentley, Penn State, Guard, Senior
Kelsey Bone, Texas A&M, Center, Junior
Gennifer Brandon, Cal Berkeley, Forward, Junior
Heather Butler, UT Martin, Guard, Junior
Layshia Clarendon, Cal Berkeley, Guard, Senior
Carolyn Davis, Kansas, Forward, Senior
Elena Delle Donne, Delaware, Forward, Senior
Skyler Diggins, Notre Dame, Guard, Senior
Stefanie Dolson, Connecticut, Center, Junior
Kelly Faris, Connecticut, Guard, Senior
Christina Foggie, UCLA, Guard, Junior
Chassidy Fussell, Texas, Guard, Junior
Angel Goodrich, Kansas, Guard, Senior
Chelsea Gray, Duke, Guard, Junior
Brittney Griner, Baylor, Guard, Senior
Bria Hartley, Connecticut, Guard, Junior
Tianna Hawkins, Maryland, Forward, Senior
Tayler Hill, Ohio State, Guard, Senior
Jordan Hooper, Nebraska, Forward, Junior
Chelsea Hopkins, San Diego State, Guard, Senior
Maggie Lucas, Penn State, Guard, Junior
Anna Martin, DePaul, Guard, Senior
A'dia Mathies, Kentucky, Guard, Senior
Lindsey Moore, Nebraska, Guard, Senior
Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Connecticut, Forward, Sophomore
Chiney Ogwumike, Stanford, Forward, Junior
Niveen Rasheed, Princeton, Guard, Senior
Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown, Guard, Senior
Shoni Schimmel, Louisville, Guard, Junior
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee, Guard, Junior
Odyssey Sims, Baylor, Guard, Junior
Alyssa Thomas, Maryland, Guard, Junior
Elizabeth Williams, Duke, Center, Sophomore

The Wade Trophy, named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past 10 years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy player of the year award. A committee composed of coaches, administrators and media from across the U.S. selects the winner.

About State Farm®:
State Farm and its affiliates are the largest provider of car insurance in the U.S. and is a leading insurer in Canada. In addition to providing auto insurance quotes, their 17,800 agents and more than 65,000 employees serve 81 million policies and accounts - more than 79 million auto, home, life and health policies in the United States and Canada, and nearly 2 million bank accounts. Commercial auto insurance, along with coverage for renters, business owners, boats and motorcycles, is also available. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company is the parent of the State Farm family of companies. State Farm is ranked No. 43 on the Fortune 500 list of largest companies. For more information, please visit or in Canada

About the NAGWS:
The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) was established to develop and deliver equitable and quality sport opportunities for ALL girls and women through relevant research, advocacy, leadership development, educational strategies, and programming in a manner that promotes social justice and change.

About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. For more information on the WBCA, please visit





  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago